Warning!

February 19, 2012 at 11:00 am 12 comments


I have been receiving this message off and on since I landed in Mumbai on the 13th:

It reads: Warning: We believe your account was recently accessed from India (RJ) (115.112.42.0)

Even though I have now been back in Pakistan for the past few days, yet I still continue to receive this warning at intervals. Why? First of all why should there be a warning in the first place? Who is responsible for it? I have traveled to many parts of the world and I have never received such a message stating that I should beware that my account had been accessed from that country. It just seems so strange … and to be frank, I don’t like it one little bit.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: , , , .

Buy & sell software portal launched by wi-tribe Talk about going bananas!

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. شعیب صفدر  |  February 19, 2012 at 11:10 am

    یہ تو جی میل والے ہی بتا سکتے ہیں۔

    Reply
  • 2. yasin  |  February 19, 2012 at 11:12 am

    just check the login log given at the bottom of Gmail, if it is then change your password. But how come I am telling all this to a tech guru like you

    Reply
  • 3. Sooban  |  February 19, 2012 at 11:20 am

    So i travel to saudi every week, but only last week I got this message that my account was accessed from saudi while i was logging in from dubai. but the activity sheet matched with my stay in saudi. but it happened only once.

    Reply
  • 4. Noor Ahmad Ahmadi  |  February 19, 2012 at 11:27 am

    That’s true and possible. what you have to do is to change your count password and then go to security option of you account. Enable secure browsing. In other word its called https secure browsing. This option does not function inside your account but in the server wherever you go you’ll have secure account and impossible to be access by strangers.

    Reply
  • 5. pakimom  |  February 19, 2012 at 11:44 am

    I have never been to Canada but I received a similar message saying my account had been accessed. I just changed the password. Maybe someone with no life messing around.

    Reply
  • 6. Vickram Crishna  |  February 19, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    Google helps you be aware when your account is accessed from a different location, even from a different machine. This information is shown to you live at the bottom of the GMail screen, and also by email if Google thinks you might be at special risk. It is sad that traveling to India and accessing mail is a part of this special risk, but it is true when traveling in the opposite direction as well, if that is any comfort.

    The administration of both countries delight in encouraging their youngsters to break accounts and websites registered in, hosted in or purveying information about the other country, which is a doleful commentary on degrading the concept of nationalism.

    Reply
  • 7. ashangel88  |  February 19, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    Lol !!! now u know that you, being from pakistan, were being tracked ;p

    Reply
    • 8. Vickram Crishna  |  February 19, 2012 at 1:21 pm

      Nasty implication, but in this case, entirely misplaced. The tracking is a feature of GMail, put in place to alert you when your account is fraudulently accessed from a different location/device (universal, not particular to the two countries – it could have been in the same room even).

      Sadly, from 1st March, Google proposes to use this information (and other personal information) to direct advertising to its users, a very creative intrusion into our lives. Objections to this proposed change have been placed in several countries, including the EU, but of course neither Pakistan nor India have joined their voices to this clamour of protest – how can they, when they constantly seek to legalise more such intrusion themselves?

      Reply
      • 9. ashangel88  |  February 19, 2012 at 1:59 pm

        Ahan!!! did’nt know that.

        Reply
  • 10. Map a Crime  |  February 19, 2012 at 1:54 pm

    Whenever your account is being accessed from different IP Pool gmail, facebook etc issues a warning message and sometimes ask for password/security question verification too.

    Some more people experienced this as you can see in threads below

    http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/gmail/thread?tid=1fb5f81bd36fc28e&hl=en

    http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/gmail/thread?tid=3c7c9e63c2e16725&hl=en

    This is not happening with individuals, i have experienced it in Europe, Far East and middle east too.

    Reply
  • 11. saqibrasheed  |  February 20, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    heard about privacy??? or security?

    Reply
  • 12. Amir  |  December 3, 2012 at 12:41 am

    I like this security feature a lot. However, the implementation seems to be not done properly or “humanly” enough. Whenever we see such a message, a link should also be given alongside to disable it from appearing next time when you login. But every software (incl. Gmail) needs suggestions for improvements. So, instead of ranting about it on your own blogs or individual “gup shup”, you guys would be better off going to Gmail forum and complaining/suggesting about it over there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers

%d bloggers like this: