The challenge of a lifetime

November 18, 2012 at 10:26 am 15 comments

This was only the second time that I had been admitted to hospital – the first being a few years ago when I had dengue and had to spend 4 days at OMI. That was bad enough but this stint has been the most challenging. To be diagnosed with cancer, to have major surgery, to be immobile and dependent, to not know what lies ahead. I have had to muster up all my strength and positivity to get through it this far. There have been many who have helped either from a distance or from being right there every step of the way.

I must admit to being very scared. Going under the knife (scalpel) was not something i was looking forward to. I had watched enough medical shows on television to know that things could go very wrong. The consent form i had signed spelt out all the possible risks. I would have to be stupid not to be scared. Nonetheless I put up a bravado and maintained a sense of humour for the sake of family and friends. The fact that I had cancer had already traumatised them. If they saw how terrified I was they would not be able to handle it. I did however ask my old friend Rukhsana to draft out a will for me – I am not rich but I didn’t want what I do have to go into limbo in case something happened to me.

I was admitted into AKU on the 30th of October. I would be third in line for the surgery the next morning. There were 2 minor operations scheduled prior to mine. As I was taken away on the stretcher at around 10 a.m. my friends followed until they were finally restricted from going any further. I waved goodbye, took a deep breath, said a little prayer and got ready to face what lay ahead.

In the prep area, my doctor Dr. Aliya Begum Aziz came and spoke to me. She is young, very professional and inspires confidence. I was so glad that she was my surgeon. She explained that the anaesthesiologist would present me with two options – one was the epidural which was better in terms of pain management post-op. My threshold for pain is extremely low so I opted for the epidural. I do remember asking the well- spoken and pleasant anaesthesiologist if there was any risk associated with the procedure. He assured me there was not. Of course implanting the epidural took some time and several attempts due to my body mass (note – must try and lose weight).

Thankfully, the next thing I remember is seeing my doctor through a haze telling me that although the surgery had taken 3 1/2 hours, it had been totally successful; that she had managed to take out all the cancerous bits and the disease seemed to be contained and early- stage. She looked happy. That must be good, I thought to myself.

In the recovery room, I remember seeing my friends Afia and Rukhsana reassuring me and asking how I was. I must have dozed off after that until they moved me to the Special Care Unit where I was tied to machines and tubes which monitored my progress post-op. Quite a scary sight!

Fast forward to 18 hours later when I was moved to my room because the doc thought my condition was stable enough.

The next few days were tough. I had always been the caregiver, never the patient, so this was a new experience for me. I had never felt so dependent on others. My Chief Attendant, Afia Salam – a friend for decades – was a blessing. Having been through this herself, she knew what to watch out for. She also knew when not to panic and transferred much of that calmness to me. Other than one day when I remember being a grouch, I think I was a pretty good patient.

Afia stayed with me at the hospital and took on the duties of Executive Secretary answering all the enquiries regarding my health, putting up health updates on Facebook and Twitter so that family, friends and well-wishers would know how I was doing. Some of these were photo updates. She screened all my calls. My Florence Nightingale team also included Nuzhat, Rukhsana, Farieha, Sana and Seema all of whom took out time to be with me, to provide cheer and support.

Family is very important when you are going through a rough time. My siblings were a great source of strength and support through this period. They kept in touch letting me know that they were there for me and that everything would be okay. My brother Samar and his wife Faiza came over from London and spent some time with me prior to the surgery. They also insisted that I have my room refurnished and wrote out a cheque so that I would be pressurised into getting it done.

My brother Zafar who is a very busy chap and never leaves his office for more than a few days at a time, flew to Karachi from Hong Kong to be with my father during my hospitalisation so that I would not worry. He also came to the hospital daily and other than spending time with me, brought various gadgets to cheer me up – the primary one being the new iPad Mini. Wow! That really brought a smile to my face.

My uncles, aunts, cousins (especially the ones who are doctors) offered support and advice pre-op as well as post-op.

I spent 8 days in the hospital. Some of these were extremely rough – the pain, the nausea, the weakness, the dependence, needles being poked into me – it was all quite challenging. I don’t think I would have got through it if not for the prayers, support and good wishes of friends and family, the bouquets,  the calls , the visits that Afia “hitler” Salam allowed :).

Several things occurred to me as I lay in that hospital bed:
1. How had my dearest mother gone through so many years of illness and hospitalizations and retained her sense of humour?
2. Ammi had been right about how lucky we are to be able to afford such good healthcare. If we still went through so much discomfort, what happened to those who couldn’t afford these facilities?
3. Men and women who are not compassionate and who don’t consider nursing as a mission, should not become nurses. When a person is ill they need gentle, tender, loving care coupled with professionalism. Nurses can make a patient’s stay a pleasant bearable one or  a nightmare from hell.
4. When you keep telling someone who is going through pain that it will be okay, it doesn’t help. All it results in is silly platitudes that eventually tend to irritate.
5. When someone tells you that they can’t eat or drink something, listen to them. Their body is telling them that there is some reason why it won’t accept food or drink. Don’t insist!
6. Do what the doctor says! Sit up, walk, do your exercises. The healing will be quicker.
7. Hospitals should have more nurses to go around. It is a tough job and for them to do it well, they need to be well rested.
8. Hospitals should have better chefs. This is when patients need palatable food the most.

While I was in hospital, my two activists-turned-interior designers, Farieha and Sana, re-furnished my room. Technology was used at every stage as they sent pictures of bookshelves, mirrors, cushions, bedspreads etc on What’s App and got my approval. They even used Skype to show me the designs of the blinds. By the time I got home the room was re-done. My brother had helped by putting rods in the bathroom and by installing the television on the wall of the bedroom. It was all made very comfortable for me.

I have always known this but the one thing that has been re-established in my mind and in my heart is that I am extremely fortunate to have so many people in my life who care about me and are willing to rally around whenever I need help. They are there to share in my joys and are there to offer prayers and support through the most challenging times. That is such a blessing. To say thank you would never be enough. From the core of my being I pray that they are showered with God’s blessings always.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

The time has come the walrus said to speak of many things The best gift of all time

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Syed  |  November 18, 2012 at 11:12 am

    May Allah bless you and your well-wishers who are always there for you? By reading your story, I say one thing that there is something what Allah the most Almighty, wants you to focus.
    God Bless you
    Sincerely
    Syed Rizwan

    Reply
  • 2. walkingonadream89  |  November 18, 2012 at 11:24 am

    Congrats on your recovery!

    Reply
  • 3. RiskTrainer  |  November 18, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    Thank you Jehan for sharing this. When you first mentioned the big C, it shook all of us up, especially those who have lost friends and family to it. But your brave updates and your light heartedness specially when it comes to mixing sushi and surgery made it easier for those around you.

    Your absence from the internet world was acutely felt but now that you are back and posting and tweeting on a more regular basis we can relax and chill out. We will miss you though at APICTA. Wish there was some way we could ask the Sultan to send his personal 747 for you.

    Welcome back.

    Reply
  • 4. Bintehassan  |  November 18, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    Dear Jahan Ara Begum (old style ;)),
    I have to admit that while reading your post, I cried. One reason was that you have explained your feelings very simply and accurately. Second reason was that you think/know you were trying NOT to scare your dear ones more, but lete tell you that their fear gradually increases with every passing moment. Some calm themselves by reciting Quran Shareef, some talk silly, some laugh weirdly and some stop talking until you come out of danger.
    I am praying for your speedy recovery and SHABAASH on being the super daughter, sister, friend and cousin (you yourself have a lot to do with this “return on investment”). You have your dearones around you and
    may Allah keep all of you close knit forever. Ameen.
    Get well soon!!!!

    Reply
  • 5. Hammad Farooqui  |  November 18, 2012 at 1:12 pm

    May Allah bless you and keep you healthy always. No doubt you are lucky to have such wonderful friends – May Allah give them reward of what they have done and are doing. Ameen.

    Reply
  • 6. Asif Kabani  |  November 18, 2012 at 2:33 pm

    Get Well soon.. we the nation need you support for your future generation in the filed of ICT.

    Best Wishes.

    Reply
  • 7. Abdul Hameed Kath  |  November 18, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    Thank God! Glad to see you up and about. We’re going to Madinah now. Will see you on our return to Karachi.

    Reply
  • 8. Mohsin Termezy  |  November 18, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    Bitten and Back…..All the best for a speedy recovery…looking forward to see you!

    Reply
  • 9. Jibran Jamshad  |  November 18, 2012 at 6:17 pm

    Long Live Jehan!! May Almighty bless you and your entire friends and family circle!!.. I have followed you from being a student to an IT Pro and trust me you’re one of the very few people who are so honest and truly hardworking to safeguard others interest.. so you have the biggest share of our prayers.. Sorry I have moved from Karachi and wasn’t able to see ya during these days. Take care..

    Reply
  • 10. beenasarwar  |  November 19, 2012 at 2:18 am

    Great update. Thanks so much for your thoughtfulness in keeping us posted. Hugs.

    Reply
  • 11. Absher Rashid  |  November 20, 2012 at 12:48 pm

    Get well soon Madam Jehan Ara.

    Reply
  • 12. pakimom  |  December 7, 2012 at 12:01 am

    I just saw this. Hey, I knew you were gonna be OK. We gotta plan that trip. *hugs

    Reply
  • 13. adeelijaz49  |  December 19, 2012 at 8:17 am

    Allah ap ko bahut achi sehut de. Ameen

    Reply
  • 14. Classified  |  December 25, 2012 at 3:44 am

    GOd bless you.

    Reply
  • 15. Adil Z  |  June 28, 2013 at 4:47 pm

    All the best to you. May Allah grant you health and happiness. My mother is also undergoing treatment from Aliya Aziz and its been good so far. Take care.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates

  • So @KElectricPk first we had no power at the office and at home most of the day. It came back for a bit and now it has been gone for 2 hrs. 1 hour ago
  • Raining quite heavily on my side of town #Karachi 4 hours ago
  • Going to Hong Kong for the holidays, then on to Singapore. So relieved that I won't have to be in Karachi (sans Abbaji). Was dreading it. 11 hours ago
  • How long does it take to fix this? Still waiting RT @KElectricPk: Your area is under EHT tripping however teams are on it @jehan_ara 13 hours ago
  • 32.5% tax on solar panels? Don't they want clean, cheap, alternative sources of power? bit.ly/UryooA 14 hours ago
  • .@etribune Blaming KMC is not enough. Governance means that the CM and his team have to ensure that every department does their job. 15 hours ago
  • RT @Maheenkhanpk: Despite my self I am drawn daily to the horror in the news . The terror of the evil that resides in the world today,the e… 15 hours ago
  • And why is it happening in every district? Isn't there a way of keeping it from happening? RT @fursid: @KElectricPk what's an EHT tripping? 15 hours ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 194 other followers

