The best gift of all time

November 21, 2012 at 9:01 am 10 comments

The past few months have been tough and although many friends and colleagues have raved about how brave I have been, I have actually been quite scared and have tried to take it one day at a time so that I wouldn’t be overwhelmed. The strategy has worked I think – at least to some degree.

The surgery is over. The external staples are out. Internal healing will take another 3 weeks according to the doctor. The histology report has come in and the news is very good. It was indeed very early stage cancer and was contained. The surgeon was able to get it all. There is no sign of it in the lymph nodes or in the surrounding tissue.

Met with the radiation oncologist the other day. He was very positive. He said I was very lucky. The report indicated that I was, what he called, now a low risk patient and hence he did not think that I needed to undergo radiation treatment. I would however need to go in to see my doctor every 2 months for monitoring and examination to ensure that any signs of recurrence were detected early.

To say that I am relieved would be an understatement. I feel I have been given a new lease on life and I must use this well …. and I intend to. It has been three weeks since my surgery. My doctor says I must rest for another three weeks if I want to avoid long-term repercussions. It is tough to follow her instructions but I am doing it because I know I have to.

You know, ever since I have started to write about what I am going through, I have heard from friends and colleagues who are survivors or who have family who are going through a similar experience. Some have told me that by sharing my thoughts and feelings, I have helped them be more positive or look at things with a different perspective. That makes me happy. I have always found it therapeutic to write down what I was feeling but I never thought that by doing so, I would also be helping someone else.

To all those who have prayed for me, who have sent positive vibes, offered advice and support, sent bouquets, books, gifts, cupcakes and fruit, those who have been there every step of the way, I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: , , , , , , .

The challenge of a lifetime Well done Team P@SHA!

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Asma Amjad  |  November 21, 2012 at 9:10 am

    I am your follower on twitter and never had a clue what you were going through. your tweets were always about work and other routine things but were always cheery. i saw you on tv once or twice as well and very much agreed with your ideas and views. you always seemed so strong and affirmative. congratulations on the recovery and may Allah bless you with a healthy happy and fruitful life. you were an inspiration before and now you are even more of that. :)

    Reply
  • 2. Sultan Hamdani  |  November 21, 2012 at 9:11 am

    Hey this is all good new, Alhamdullilah. Please keep on resting. Its never the surgery, its the post surgery actions that matter the most. :)

    Reply
  • 3. RiskTrainer  |  November 21, 2012 at 9:17 am

    Yay, this calls for a not just a slice but an entire Red velvet cake.

    Unfortunately because of the deluge of orders for the Red Velvet Cake in view of your celebration the earliest we can arrange it is Friday.

    Reply
  • 4. RiskTrainer  |  November 21, 2012 at 9:20 am

    BTW did the doctor mention when will be you in a position to get your whip out and crack it on our APICTA participants.

    Yes that means you (you know who you are).

    Reply
  • 5. Jehan  |  November 21, 2012 at 9:22 am

    Jawwad I don’t need permission from the doctor to crack the whip. Point me in the right direction and I will start NOW. Even in my weakened state I am a force to be reckoned with ;)

    Reply
  • 6. afiasalam  |  November 21, 2012 at 10:13 am

    Hope it is a lease on a new lifestyle too:) Healthier one.

    Reply
  • 7. Hammad Siddiqui  |  November 21, 2012 at 11:20 am

    Good news Indeed. I am sure you will be fine “Iron Lady”

    Reply
  • 8. irfan Ahmad  |  November 21, 2012 at 3:08 pm

    Alhamdolillah! Good news. Perhaps this is the time to rest and tackle books which are very famous but not many have read because of their sheer volume – like War and Peace and Ulysses! Both are available free on the itunes store. Or, perhaps you have already read them?

    Reply
  • 9. Joanna V  |  November 21, 2012 at 5:30 pm

    Very good to hear that, Jehan. Wishing you well always and glad you continue to inspire people and crack whips when you need to as well….. :)

    Reply
  • 10. Waqar Ali  |  November 27, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    Assalam o Alaikum, InshAllah you will get better soon. We are looking forward to attend another of your great speeches. From behind your legendary apple mac with the same ol’ smile… :) Be happy InshAllah all will get better… May Allah bless you with health and happiness :) ameen. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers

