Why do we not pay attention to signs?

January 13, 2014 at 10:58 am 2 comments

On Sunday morning I found the grocery cupboards were bare so off I went to Metro armed with a long list of things that were needed for the house.Metro sign

As I drove into the Metro carpark, I intuitively parked in the spot closest to the entrance. But as I got out of the car, I noticed this sign. A couple of ‘d’s’ missing no doubt but the message was clear so I got back into the car and looked around for alternative parking.

The guard who was stationed in the carpark stopped me and said it was okay for me to park there and asked why I was looking for a new spot. I explained to him that those two parking spots were for people with disabilities. He looked at me as if I was some strange phenomenon; shrugged and said “That’s okay. No-one pays attention to the sign”. I didn’t really want to argue with him but I did say to him that signs such as this were placed there for a reason and that we should abide by them.

As I parked my car in another location and headed for the entrance of Metro, I noticed that two other families had parked their cars in those spaces reserved for people with disabilities.

Why am I ranting about this? Because it is not an isolated incident. I have noticed many times that at airports where there are numerous announcements stating that smoking is not allowed, people stand below No Smoking signs and smoke. At times I have gone up to such people and indicated to them that they were smoking in a No Smoking area. They shrug, grin and look the other way. Similarly, counters at immigration which are meant for unaccompanied women and children more often than not are populated by long queues of men. I am one of the troublemakers who goes up to such people and asks “Which one are you – an unaccompanied woman or a child?” . I also take it up with immigration staff  - why are the signs put up if they are not going to be adhered to, I ask. They are temporarily embarrassed and some of them move away but only until troublemakers like me are no longer in the vicinity.

Strangely these same people will follow rules and signs put up at airports in other countries so why not here? Is it because they know they can get away with it? Whatever the reason, I find it extremely irritating …

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Happy birthday my dearest Ammi Ammi we love you and miss you

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. erum  |  January 13, 2014 at 11:30 am

    so true… i feel it disturbing too and make a fuss about such signs and often remarked as problem creator/ hot headed especially at the traffic signals and on roads when people find it their innate right to violate traffic rules blatantly
    .

    Reply
  • 2. Usman Hameed  |  January 13, 2014 at 6:34 pm

    In our society, in our schools and offices, we do not teach people and we do not give importance to the treatment to be given to such people and people on wheel chairs. Very few buildings and shopping malls have facilities for disabled people and people on wheel chair. A mass education drive and laws for builders, offices and shopping centers are required as you can see in Dubai and Hong Kong.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 194 other followers

