Driven to violence?

May 28, 2007 at 10:27 pm Leave a comment

Yesterday thanks to our friends(?) at KESC I had no power at home for more than 13 hours – from 5:30 am to 6:30 pm …. and yet I felt lucky. Have I gone insane you might ask? My oldest friends will probably tell you that there has always been a screw or two loose in my head.

But I have a reason for saying that I felt lucky – I had a UPS, and when that died the small generator I possess gave me some respite. What about all those people who don’t have either of these alternatives available? How do they cope? What keeps them from going out of their minds? How do they survive? I have no answers. Maybe KESC does.

All I know is that such things can turn the coolest and most docile of people to violence. The other day we didn’t have power in the office for 7 hours. Prior to that the night before one of our graphic designers had no electricity at home most of the night. I can’t tell you how shocked I was when she turned around and said with a calm viciousness that she felt like bombing KESC. This came from a young woman who keeps a cool head when the rest of us are at each other’s throats near to the close of a project. I have never heard her speak in such a tone.

When I expressed my surprise at her outburst, she said “When you can’t sleep at night and you can’t work during the day, something inside you snaps … how long do they expect a person to be patient and accepting?” How long indeed?!

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Just seemed apt in the current scenario … Change in the Indian airline scene

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


