New discoveries at t2f

June 14, 2007 at 4:38 pm 2 comments

t2fpic01.gifBy now many have heard of “The Second Floor” – a different kind of coffee house set up by Sabeen Mahmud who is now a social entrepreneur. Hence t2f is not on Zamzama and looks nothing like the spate of coffee shops that have spurted all over Karachi. It is on Khayaban-e-Ittehad on the second floor of the Prime Point Building. A location map is available on their website. The coffee is delicious and affordable, so are the chillers and sandwiches, quiches, etc.

I have held many of my meetings there (especially when KESC has played havoc with the electricity on Zamzama where my office is situated). The ambience, the fast wifi connection and the delicious drinks have made me go back again and again. I must admit however that I end up buying books and t-shirts that I had not budgeted for – but they are worth it.

Yesterday I went there at 4 to have meetings with my lawyer and a lady from CSF/USAID. Hadn’t had time for lunch so I snacked on the new finger foods that have been introduced at t2f – crackers with fetta cheese (and spicy chips and dip that i have yet to sample). I also had the delicious Green Apple Chiller, an Espresso, another Chiller – they are addictive! I highly recommend the crackers and fetta to anyone who doesn’t want to partake of a heavy sandwich.

I got another perspective on t2f yesterday from my lawyer who says that he only goes back to food outlets that pass the one sure test he has – apart from having tasty snacks and a nice environment of course – and that is the state of the washrooms. He gave an A+ to t2f. So I just had to check it out for myself. Wow! Clean, rose petals in a clay dish, a rack with a collection of magazines, liquid soap and little towelettes that you can throw in the laundry basket after you’ve wiped your hands – and interesting clippings of all sorts on the bulletin boards. Certainly very different from any coffee shop I have visited in this city.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Thank you Apna Karachi FM107! D-Day!!!

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


