Should I be thrilled?

June 19, 2007 at 3:43 pm 3 comments

The Women’s Excellence Awards 2007 were held on Sunday June 17 at the Marriott Hotel in Karachi. I received an Award – “ICT Woman of the Year”. Whereas my father and my friends were delighted that I had been “recognized” for the efforts I had put in day and night for the ICT indICT Excellence Awardustry from 2003 – 2006, I didn’t really feel too much of a thrill. Was that because I generally feel that when awards are separated according to gender, it is be-littling to the woman? I ask myself am I being recognized because I managed to do something for the ICT sector despite being a woman? There were also awards given to the Woman Banker of the Year and Woman Manager of the Year – signifying that women couldn’t hold their own if the Awards were generic?

My question is if the award I was given was in recognition for my contribution to the ICT industry … you know like I am not a separate creature but am being recognized as a professional in a particular industry, would I then not have qualified? These aren’t questions that will keep me awake at night but I do wonder if women in this country will ever be recognized for what they achieve because they have beaten all odds, because they are good at what they do and because they deserve to be recognized. Or will they always be made to feel like they are being given a “special mention” so that their feelings aren’t hurt?  Anyway, here is a picture of me and my Award such as it is.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Women’s Leadership Conference 2007 Shortage of ideas?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Skeptic  |  June 19, 2007 at 6:55 pm

    Congratulations. Discovered your blog through Mr. Kidvai’s blog. As far as physical sports are concerned men have an advantage over women that’s why we have a segregation. But our mental abilities are the same, in fact women have an advantage over men because they are more hard working and have less distractions so any such segregation is not advisable. Could it be that it was actually an affirmative action to give a handicap to men?

    Reply
  • 2. Vickram Crishna  |  June 19, 2007 at 7:23 pm

    It is understandable to feel a little miffed when you get qualified recognition – damned with faint praise, as it were. But it must also be said that achieving recallable ‘name’ value and also ‘face’ value (who can ever forget that moment when Malcolm Matson quipped, “You’re the Madonna of software!” as a car screeched to a halt in Lahore, and two young strangers came up to ask for your autograph?) is also proof that recognition of your ability does go beyond a ‘mere women’s’ award.
    Having said which, what kind of unqualified awards are in fact given within the country – not only by the state but by non-governmental organisations? Naturally, it is more meaningful that an award recognising success be given from outside that sector, thus signifying its merit to all people, not just those from the sector.
    I think that seeing such lists will put this award in context, not only for women, but for sectors of the economy as well.

    Reply
  • 3. Muhammad Asif Razzaque  |  June 27, 2007 at 3:52 am

    One ICT Industry- One Award!
    Fully agree!
    Anyways congrats🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


