Me and my iPhone

August 1, 2007 at 3:31 pm 4 comments

iPhoneAt least it’s mine for a few daysūüôā My brother bought it in the US and has allowed me to play with it while I am here in Hong Kong. Of course he is more than a little nervous that he won’t get it back (heh heh). Not that I blame him – the danger is very real!

When he first let me borrow it, I just sat for a few minutes and looked at it and caressed it tenderly absolutely entranced. It is such a beautiful phone – like anything Apple, the elegance and design far surpasses any phone imaginable. It’s sleek, sexy and absolutely gorgeous!

When i finally started checking out the features, it felt like magic. Oh so very responsive to the touch. Safari loads smoothly and quickly – the landscape option is simply amazing – it is so seamless you don’t even see it happening.

Sliding across the screen to scroll is so easy. Zooming in or out when looking at photographs or Google maps is so totally cool. I sent an SMS and and email message with my new iPhone – yes MINE! (hey I can dream, can’t i?) and it was just so simple. Movies load and run like magic in YouTube on the iPhone … and the iPod option works fabulously. I watched Larry King Live and listened to the Beatles. The sound and video quality were superb.

The calendar, address book and notepad are simplicity personified and a total pleasure to use. Using the camera made me ooh and aah with delight. I am in love with the new iPhone and I haven’t even been able to try out the phone option yet – the service is not available in Hong Kong and my brother hasn’t been able to hack it although a friend of his told him that it can and has been done locally.

And oh oh oh I almost forgot, the trash can is absolutely out of this world – you delete anything and the cover of the can opens, swallows the doc and closes again. Apple’s attention to detail is what makes all of us totally crazy about the innovative products they come out with.

Another thing about anything Apple – there is no learning curve. Just pick it up and start using it! Wow! And double Wow!

I will spend the next 10 days using this dreamy gadget and then i guess i will have to bid it adieu … sigh… sob…

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Torture? Yum time begins

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Osama A.  |  August 2, 2007 at 1:31 pm

    Nice to read this unbiased, objective reviewūüôā

    I am curious about the “no learning curve” comment in two ways:

    1- Does any phone have any learning curve?

    2- Is OSX just as devoid of a learning curve? (I’ve never gotten myself to try to learn it – ha).

    Please let me know… its part of my never-ending research interest in usability design

    Reply
  • 2. Jehan  |  August 2, 2007 at 1:59 pm

    Yup – totally unbiasedūüėČ

    In answer to your questions, the interface in a number of the phones require going through a manual of sorts. I know that recently I had to actually develop a user guide for someone who bought an Erickson 810i. I was talking about a non-tech person picking up a phone and being able to use it right away. The Apple iPhone interface is very user friendly.

    Admittedly I am, and have always been, a devout Mac User, but the feedback I got from my brother who is a PC user and a young man who was visiting us last night and who is also a PC user was “this is cool and so easy to use”. One of them actually uses a Blackberry and the other uses a Windows based smart phone.

    As for OSX, my personal opinion is that it doesn’t require much of a learning curve to use OSX. My dad who is 82 and has never used a computer, was able to use Skype, iChat and Word without any trouble – once I had shown him how to use a mouse and the space bar and return key.

    Reply
  • 3. Osama A.  |  August 2, 2007 at 10:59 pm

    That’s nice. I was talking one of my team just yesterday about the announcements Popup in WinXP.

    I agree that the iPhone interface is very well designed — I designed a similar interface a couple of years ago which followed the same basic themes (that I will hopefully start blogging about soon).

    The obvious trick is to only show a limited set of options that help the user move Forward, and then have one step to go back to zero. This makes UI design decisions much simpler compared to the start menu (Windows Mobile) which requies two choices in one click (you’re not really back to zero and have to choose which step to “start” from).

    But then, the iPhone interface has it easy — how many options does a phone really need? It’s got its 12 apps, some settings, a trash can.

    Each of the apps has one of maybe 3-4 views

    Each view has maybe 5-6 options.

    In other words, its a simple enough application.

    Applying the same techniques to more sophisticated apps (with a lot more types of scenarios and cases where different types of people will expect different results) can be very difficult.

    That is perhaps one of the reasons Apple evangelises its own “special culture” so much, — you only want a certain type of users who would all (generally) expect to use your software within the same cases…. It is possible that Apple knows that their UIs cannot survive a potentially massive set of conflicting use-csaes.

    This is also why I admire the 37signals guys so much — they’ve managed to apply these usability techniques to complex systems like project management.

    Man, I need some time to start blogging about these things….

    Reply
  • 4. Jehan  |  August 4, 2007 at 7:52 am

    Bruce Tognazzini was hired at Apple by Steve Jobs and Jef Raskin in 1978, where he remained for 14 years, founding the Apple Human Interface Group. He has been a harsh critic of many of Apple‚Äôs later innovations, including the notorious round mouse (‚Äúfarcical‚ÄĚ) and the Macintosh Dock. He is almost as stingy with his compliments as his partner, Don Norman. That makes his continuing take on the iPhone, largely positive, most unusual. This is what Tog has to say about the iPhone:

    The iPhone really is a study in “delight.” It really is wonderful that, in an industry rife with companies striving for mediocrity, one company is still doing things right. Those of us who flocked to Apple in the beginning did so not to build computers, but to change the world. Apple is once again doing just that.

    Apple is now entering the consumer electronics world, where the lackluster attitude of “we’ll fix it in the next release” is not good enough. The iPhone proves they are more than ready.

    However, to show I am not totally biased, here is Tog’s complete analysis of the iPhone – both positive and negative – http://www.asktog.com/columns/072iPhoneFirstTouch.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


