Yum time begins

August 2, 2007 at 4:02 pm 2 comments

One day at home was enough – even though I had the iPhone to drool over. Today I ventured out to start rediscovering old haunts. First stop was my brother’s office – he is a gadget freak so of course there were several things to look at and try out – nothing that could match the iPhone of course.

So off I went on my rounds. Took the MTR (Mass Transit Railway) to Causeway Bay. Had to get some banking done with HSBC. As usual they were quick and efficient so I was soon on my way through a mass of humanity. One thing about Hong Kong – there are always zillions of people on the streets and in the shops and restaurants, no matter what time it may be.

By this time I was hungry. It was well past lunch so I went to Perfume Riverthe menu Vietnamese Restaurant on Leighton Road. It is one of the oldest Vietnamese joints in Hong Kong – and although not very posh – has some of the greatest tasting food. The old couple that ran the place must have retired or died – their daughters are now running the place. The older one recognized me and wanted to know where I had been. So I told her that I now lived in Pakistan. Please note that the entire conversation took place in Cantonese because they don’t know how to speak English. Other than the spring in my step, another thing that comes back to me whenever I land in Hong Kong, is the lingo. I find myself remembering how to converse in Cantonese and as each day passes, I become more fluent.

Anyway, back to the food. I ordered two of my favourites from the menu – Seafoodsugarcane Congee (containing scallops, prawns, squid, fish, etc) and shrimps skewered on sugarcane – yummmm. Not everyone’s cup of tea but things that I miss like crazy in Karachi. The Vietnamese sauce is to die for and the tiny red chillies can kill anyone who is not prepared for them.

congeeOnce I had finished this sumptuous meal I went into Times Square which is a shopping complex that is close by. I had coffee at Starbucks and then checked out some of the shops – bought some sultana cookies, rich tea biscuits and rasberry cookies from Marks & Spencers as well as honey roasted cashews. No I am not planning to put on weight. These goodies were for my father – they are some of his favourites.

By this time I was tired and thought of heading back home – have had a fever and throat infection so energy level is a bit low. However, on the way back I just had to make one more stop – at the bean curd shop. I can just hear some of you saying yukk! Well, the cold sweet bean curd is out of this world. I have been addicted to it since I was in school. Sure enough the teeny weeny shop was still there as was the old man who runs it. I ordered the tau fu fa, had it greedily and then went to catch the mini bus home. The mini buses here are much like the yellow devils in karachi – at least the drivers drive the vehicles exactly like that. The difference is that they are airconditioned and everyone has to be seated.

It got me home in 25 minutes taking me through some familiar places in Wanchai and Central. Being able to use efficient public transport is so convenient and so much fun. I walked more today than I have walked in Karachi all year. All in all, I had a wonderful day – it was much needed. After a few rough months, I really did need to relax and unwind.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Me and my iPhone Special effects galore

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. zakintosh  |  August 5, 2007 at 2:52 pm

    STOP WRITING THESE CRUEL POSTS IMMEDIATELY!!!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Jehan  |  August 5, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    Sorry Zak – really wish you guys were here with me🙂 Just wanted to share – can’t you just taste the food???

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


