My first Birkenstock!

August 12, 2007 at 9:15 am Leave a comment

logoI am told that no part of the body is subject to more stress and strain in the course of one’s lifetime than the foot. Our feet bear all of the body’s weight – yikes! Poor little feet! They keep the body balanced and cushion the shocks. So we should always treat them right.

I thought I had been treating mine very well. I don’t like high heels and, as much as possible, for the past decade or so, I have been wearing totally flat shoes whenever possible. Well, my doc recently told me that flat shoes are actually bad for the knees. Hmmm. So this trip I decided to look at Birkenstocks – a friend of mine who knows about these things, had said that the shape of the Original Birkenstock Footbed enables body weight to be distributed evenly over the whole foot, providing it with optimal support.

They looked pretty cool in the shop window and they were available at 50% off the retail price. Wow – lucky me! So in I went to try on a pair. They felt comfortable. Tried on several of them and liked two designs. I asked the young salesman to get them for me. That was when I realized there was more to buying shoes than meets the eye.

He measured my foot and brought a different size, explaining to me how, when buying a shoe, one needs to try it on standing up – it is the way the foot settles on the heel that indicates whether it is the right size and fit. He gave me further advice on the use of the shoes and suggested that I pay with my credit card if I wanted a further 10% off the price.

Nice polite young man. I shall certainly want to shop there again. What a difference service makes!

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Man has thumbs altered to improve iPhone dexterity CSR and Art

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


