Back in Karachi!

August 14, 2007 at 11:25 am 1 comment

I left Hong Kong yesterday with mixed feelings – excited to be coming back to Karachi and yet sad to be leaving a city in which I had grown up, got my first job and spent so many wonderful years.

The flight from Hong Kong to Karachi was uneventful. It was comfortable. I watched a movie, started and finished a book I had bought to read on the flight, chatted with the guy sitting next to me – a young British advertising guy who was a bit anxious about coming to Karachi for the first time to sign a partnership deal with an agency in Karachi. I think I managed to convince him that he would be okay, that Karachi and its people were wonderful and he would enjoy himself here.

The past two weeks in Hong Kong have been wonderful for me – reliving old memories, rediscovering old haunts, sampling the delicious cuisine, taking in some of the new movies and discovering and experiencing the new things that Hong Kong has to offer.

What will I miss most about Hong Kong? Everything! But most of all, the walking I did. Would you believe that I have lost 6 lbs in 2 weeks – no dieting involved (as can be seen through the various entries on this blog). That wasn’t the purpose of the walking. I just wanted to roam around but the end result is that I lost weight and I feel good.

I identify Hong Kong with liberation – the liberty to just step out of the house and be in the midst of things. It is that kind of city. Whether you walk, take the bus, the MTR, the tram, the ferry or a taxi, you are always in the center of things – the buzz surrounds you. You can be yourself. No-one bothers you. You are just one more person in a mass of humanity – everyone going about their own business or socializing or shopping, partying – whatever their hearts desire.

Put on a pair of jeans, throw on a blouse, put your feet into a comfortable pair of shoes and off you go. It is just so easy and so relaxing. For two weeks I didn’t make any plans. I just did what I wanted to, when I wanted to. It was amazing. I am ready to get back to work – with a different mindset, new ideas and absolutely raring to go.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Sunday jaunt Could it possibly be explained better?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Vic  |  August 15, 2007 at 10:17 am

    “For two weeks I didn’t make any plans. I just did what I wanted to, when I wanted to. It was amazing.”

    Well, that sounds like a plan…

    “I am ready to get back to work – with a different mindset, new ideas and absolutely raring to go.”

    …and its fruits!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


