A never-ending journey to Singapore

November 27, 2007 at 4:11 am 4 comments

It would be safe to assume that a journey from Karachi to Singapore would take around 6 hours, wouldn’t it? Normally that would be true but not if you book through Sultan’s travel agent.

We were put on a flight that took 15 hours to get to our destination. First we went to Dubai, transit time in Dubai was around 4 hours. The Emirates Business Class lounge was so chock-a-block that it was difficult finding a vacant chair. I eventually found one and parked myself there – but not for long. It was so clautrophobic because of the number of people that I decided to leave this elite lounge and go outside where there was more room to breathe.

Somehow – due to my ability to access the Net – I was able to get through that 4 hour transit only to find once I boarded the plane, that it was in fact headed for Colombo – something the travel agent had failed to mention. So off we went to Colombo, where we were in transit for just over an hour before we finally headed for Singapore.

By the time we finally got to Changi Airport, we were totally washed out. I was therefore not at all in a mood to be told when I got to Swissotel The Stamford Hotel that my booking was for the next day! Yikes! Would this nightmare journey never end? Got that sorted out after some irritation, some pleading and some yelling. That was not the end of it though. When the hotel tried to process my VISA Gold card, they were told to call the bank. The reason? The bank said that since I was trying to use the card in a city that was not my city of residence, they had to check whether it was really me! What amazing logic! When am I most likely to use my card? When I am travelling right? Sigh!

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

It’s all happening in Lahore right now! The APICTA Awards – a blow by blow account

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dubai » Blog Archive » A never-ending journey to Singapore  |  November 27, 2007 at 7:31 am

    […] EcoMoto – Environmental Trends, Green Innovation, Electric Cars and Hybrid Cars wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptNormally yes but not if you book through Sultan’s travel agent. … First we went to Dubai, transit time in Dubai was around 4 hours…. […]

    Reply
  • 2. hashmi  |  November 28, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    Well atleast you didnt have 16-22 hour transit times at Dubai!

    It gives “living out of a suitcase” a whole new meaning.

    Reply
  • 3. Sohaib Athar  |  November 29, 2007 at 2:22 am

    Share the name of your travel agent and bank please?🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Jehan  |  November 29, 2007 at 5:12 am

    Not that this is any kind of competition Osama (and I really do feel for you and hope you are able to change your flight) but I once had to spend 24 hours at Singapore’s Changi airport so I can empathize believe me! I don’t even want to remember how that felt. Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


