A close call or just a scare?

December 4, 2007 at 9:01 pm Leave a comment

My trip to Singapore was certainly not uneventful. I stayed on an extra day after the team left. There was an APICTA Exco meeting which I had to attend. Checked out of the hotel in the morning before I headed for the meeting which was to start at 9:30 a.m. It was at the Singapore Management University which had become our home away from home during this trip.

xmas lightsThe meeting was intense and went on until 3:30 pm. After it concluded I had a few hours to kill since I wasn’t due to leave for the airport until past 11 pm. I decided to take an MRT ride to Orchard Road, browse around the two large bookshops and take in the Christmas lights. I must have walked miles stopping at various places to take a break and rest my aching feet.

Always tempted by Marks & Spencer I walked into the basement store as Ifire emerged from Borders the bookstore. Decided to try on some shirts. It was in the changing room that I heard what sounded like a fire alarm. I quickly gathered the shirts and went out. I asked the salesgirl if there was a fire. She shrugged and replied “Could be laah – that is a fire alarm!” I looked at her quizzically and then rushed out of the store. That is when I saw the smoke. It was so dense that I was already coughing from the effects of it. Looking up, I saw that it was the adjacent building that seemed to be on fire. I stopped only to click a photo for this blog before I rushed off down the block to catch the MRT back to Raffles City. Was it a close call? No but it could have been – and it did cause a panic.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Netsol & PixSense win Awards at APICTA An evening with David Barsamian

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


