Elegy to a broken Net

February 26, 2008 at 3:38 pm 1 comment

Friends, Netizens, countrymen, lend me your ears;

I come to bury the Net, not to praise it;

The evil that men do lives after them,

The good is oft interred with their bones,

So let it be with the Net … The noble centurion

Hath told you telecom was essential:

If it were so, it was a grievous fault,

And grievously hath the Net answered it …

Here, under leave of the centurion and the rest,

(For the centurion is an honourable man;

So are they all; all honourable men)

Come I to speak in the Net’s funeral …

He was my friend, faithful and just to me:

But the centurion says he was essential;

And the centurion is an honourable man….

Telecom hath brought many businesses home,

whose earnings did general services fill:

For this, did the Net seem essential?

When that the poor have cried, the Net has wept:

Blasphemy should be made of sterner stuff:

Yet the centurion says he was essential;

And the centurion is an honourable man.

You all did see that in this century

It thrice presented us unfettered access to knowledge,

Which we did thrice refuse: was this essential?

Yet the centurion says it is essential;

And, sure, he is an honourable man.

I speak not to disparage what the centurion did,

But here I am to speak what I do know.

You all did love him once, not without cause:

What cause withholds you then to mourn for him?

O judgement! thou art fled to brutish beasts,

And men have lost their reason…. Bear with me;

My future is in the coffin there with the Net,

And I must pause till it come back to me.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Startup Insiders Session # 6 in Lahore at LUMS on February 24 Potential victims of the E-Crime Ordinance?

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


