An appeal to Telenor

March 3, 2008 at 8:16 am 17 comments

my iPhoneEver since I held my first Apple iPhone in August, I have been dying to own one. So when my brother sent me one as a gift, I was walking on air.

I looked at it in its original packaging for a few days – didn’t want to get fingerprints on it. Then when I finally did take it out and caress it, I did so tentatively. I still didn’t go about trying to jailbreak it – yes it was locked.

When I was sure I understood the process, I finally attempted to unlock my iPhone, and guess what? It turned into a brick! I was devastated! I tried everything including restoring the original software. Nothing worked. It kept telling me it was in “recovery mode”. Then, one fabulous day, with some online help, I was finally able to unlock my iPhone. Halaeluyah!

So what does all this have to do with Telenor? Well, I need a connection, don’t I? So I went to Telenor to apply for a SmartMail account and I was told by the chap (nice though he was) that Telenor Smart Mail did not support the iPhone. The options he offered were:

1. I could take the Plan that was only for browsing (no limit!) – this would not allow me to use the phone or mail option
2. I could take the Plan – Pre-Paid or Post-Paid – that would not allow Smart Mail but would let me use the phone, browse and download YouTube videos etc – BUT this option meant that, in addition to my monthly Plan costs, I would have to pay Rs. 15 for every 1MB download! Since the iPhone is perfect for music and video, can you imagine what I would end up paying for such a connection?

Come on Telenor! Be iPhone friendly! You already support Nokia, Ericcson and loads of other phones – why this bias against my iPhone? Let me have SmartMail which also allows for ‘no-limit’  browsing and downloading. You don’t really want me to go back to Mobilink, do you?

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Are they after my pasta? MITCEF wants to support innovative startups

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nausheen  |  March 3, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    Go for mobilink,🙂

    Reply
  • 2. babushka99  |  March 3, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    JA – you need to post your pics the ones you took the other day at PC/that-something-Elephant restaurant.

    Reply
  • 3. An appeal to Telenor-Download Music  |  March 4, 2008 at 9:28 am

    […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt15 for every 1MB download! Since the iPhone is perfect for music and video, can you imagine what I would end up paying for such a connection? Come on Telenor! Be iPhone friendly! You already support Nokia, Ericcson and loads of other … […]

    Reply
  • 4. waqas  |  March 4, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    You do realize, breaking jail is a serious offense?😉

    Anyway, lucky you. I want one too.

    Reply
  • 5. Babar Bhatti  |  March 6, 2008 at 4:41 am

    Glad that you were able to recover your phone! Does Mobilink fully support iPhone? What about Ufone and CMPak?

    BTW I’d like to repost this on my blog as well if its ok with you?

    Reply
  • 6. Jehan  |  March 6, 2008 at 6:41 am

    Thanks Babar! I don’t know if Mobilink or Ufone support the iPhone. Will have to check them out now that Telenor has said no. Who or what is CMPak? Sure you can post this on your blog – I would be honoured🙂

    Faisal, I will post the CEO pics today. Haven’t had a moment’s peace – no rest for the wicked they say.

    Waqas, are you trying to scare me?😦

    Reply
  • 7. Babar Bhatti  |  March 6, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    Thanks Jehan. CMPak = Paktel

    Reply
  • 8. Irfan  |  March 7, 2008 at 12:01 am

    I think iPhone doesn’t support the Nokia IntelliSync technology which is being used by Telenor and WaridTel for push mail solutions. And of course Mobilink’s BlackBerry solution cant be used on iPhone. Ufone is still living in stone age. And CMPak/Paktel exists only in ads😛
    So, I am sorry to say its Apple’s fault. I know you are an Apple fan, but you have to accept this fact :S

    Reply
  • 9. Irfan  |  March 7, 2008 at 10:03 am

    There is a good news for all iPhone fans. Apple just announced that iPhone 2.0 will be supporting Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync.😀

    Reply
  • 10. Babar Bhatti  |  March 7, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    Yes, some great new features and apps are on their way to iPhone. See my post:
    http://telecompk.net/2008/03/07/looking-for-iphone-friendly-mobile-companies-in-pakistan/

    Reply
  • 11. Shaheer  |  March 8, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    It’s difficult to get every operator in the world (or in fact, any website) to support the iPhone. The support is increasing, so don’t expect services to support the iPhone beforehand. Do note: Google’s starting to support the iPhone now. Telenor’s Smart Mail technology, I believe, is developed by Nokia – so I suggest you ask Nokia. Mobilink’s Blackberry service will work with Blackberrys only… if I’m not sure.

    It’s primarily Apple’s decision to restrict the interoperability. Think about it: the iPhone’s officially supported in 4 countries without the jailbreak – it was Apple’s decision. If you want to use it elsewhere, compromise. Not everything’s going to work with the iPhone at this stage.

    But then, Apple keeps releasing new softwares/firmwares… so get them and unlock them. Then see if it supports it (as someone said, the MS Exchange server support will come later on).

    Btw, can anyone please enlighten me what use is push email of?

    Reply
  • 12. zeb  |  March 10, 2008 at 1:11 am

    I use telenor on my iPhone and since i have a wifi setup in my apartment, i have no problems checking my emails and watching youtube videos with a broadband speed.

    Reply
  • 13. Interesting Reads from Pakistan | Zeeshan Hasan  |  March 10, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    […] An appeal to Telenor Jehan Ara’s iPhone is not working …. […]

    Reply
  • 14. Junaid  |  March 12, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Hi Jehan,

    iPhone has push email support , I dont know what firmware are you on , so you have to download an appropriate client and it supports the push email services ( Not intellisync though , the technology behind Telenor Smart Mail ) , but you can still use push email from all the free providers out there that support SyncML , drop me an email , if you want some help.

    Regards,

    Junaid

    Reply
  • 15. M Junaid Khan  |  March 16, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    I am a different Junaid then the one above and i was wondering if i can ever be so friendly with technology as my other brother junaid is?
    Anyways, i just came to see your blog from Babar’s blog and i must say this particular blog is very interesting. I will not comment on the iphone thing as i only try those phones which are tested and retested by my friends and easy to operate like the one i am using these days, Sony Ericsson P1i. The thing i want to appreciate here is your style of writing. It is really amazing to see people with such lively style of writing.
    Keep writing.
    Regards,

    Reply
  • 16. Telenor  |  March 29, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    Hi Jehan, we’re received a lot of requests for Smart Mail client for the iPhone. Smartmail is based on Nokia’s Intellisync as mentioned above, and unfortunately, Intellisync has not yet released an iPhone client for Smart Mail. As soon as they do, we’ll offer it to our customers🙂

    Reply
  • 17. Colin  |  June 25, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    Unfortunately, Nokia (who own the intellisync product line) have recently announced that they will be discontinuing ALL of the intellisync products.

    So the chances of THEM developing a new client version for the iPhone are slim-to-zero.

    If any of the communications formats/protocols for the product were open or publicly available then I’d suggest waiting for a small 3rd party developer to produce an unofficial intellisync-compatible client for the iphone… to satisfy the undoubtedly heavy demand. However I’m not aware of that being the case.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


