Flying out of Karachi

April 27, 2008 at 10:11 am 6 comments

Departing from Karachi last night I went through a mixture of experiences that I just had to share.

THE GOOD – great customer service

1. The porter was polite, amicable and whizzed my baggage through security, check-in and x-ray with amazing speed and acumen.

2. The guy at the security desk in the departure lounge was very helpful and told me not to pick up my hand baggage but to let him bring the security stamp to it. Then he advised me to remove the baggage sticker from the boarding pass and keep it safe somewhere else because i would need it when i landed in KL. He even asked me to have a safe and pleasant journey.

3. The check-in team gave me the seat i wanted right in the front of the plane

4. Flight was on schedule

THE BAD – easily fixed if they had the will to do it

1. The immigration queues were long and slow moving. Why don’t they get tech-savvy young people to man/woman these computers? Of course, as usual, the queue that is marked “For Unaccompanied women and children” was full of young and middle aged men. They can’t read I guess and no-one asked them to move. Why put up signs like these if they are not going to be adhered to? It’s really irritating.

2. The departure gate was changed at the last minute and no announcement was made until much later after we had gone from one gate to another when the flight departure was announced.

3. The smoking that continues in the departure lounge despite large signs that clearly state “No Smoking”.

4. If you have an electronic ticket, you are sent to make a photocopy of it for the check-in staff for their records <sigh>

5. The facilitation charge (meaning trolley charge and porter) is now Rs. 200 (up from Rs. 100). I wonder if it has gone up from Rs. 50 to Rs. 100 at the domestic terminals.

Those are the immediate raves and rants. I am sure I will think of more later🙂.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

What is funny … what is not The use of language

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Arfeen  |  April 27, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    customer service … bah !!
    I’ve had some retail – customer facing experience here in the US, and I’ve always been amazed at how much effort the corporate offices put into ensuring that the customers get a good service ..

    and then when I go to Pakistan, it’s totally opposite. I don’t know if the top management is just indifferent about providing good customer service or is it that they try but are not able to enforce such a culture.

    What do you think Jehan Ara, You probably know a lot of upper level managers what is the deal about customer service over there?

    Reply
  • 2. Jehan  |  April 27, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    Arfeen, I think some of the corporate offices focus a great deal on customer service training and we see the results but in many others the customer is not given due importance. I guess culture does have something to do with it. I always used to think that we in Asia knew the concept of service and actually took pride in it. Have we changed? Is the stressful atmosphere and the uncertainty in which we live responsible for this change in attitude and behaviour? Or is it just a lack of effort, a lack of attention to detail, a lack of pride in one’s work? I don’t know what it is but nonetheless I still meet people who continue to surprise me with the level of service that they personally offer – whether it be at airports, in coffee shops, in stores, banks and sometimes even government departments. Perhaps it is something innate in us that makes each of us different in the kind and level of service we deliver.

    Reply
  • 3. Syed Talha Izhar  |  April 27, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    Jehan you are absolutely right.Even I had a bad experience while standing in the line for boarding pass. We were asked to make another line as Emirates People were starting another counter, the line there was like 25+ people and i was in the last ones. We waited for 30 minutes for a our turn then we were told this counter was opened by mistake please go back to the other counter which by then had 2x more people waiting😦

    Something needs to be done in this regard.

    Reply
  • 4. Flying out of Karachi | Smoking  |  April 27, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    […] Continue Reading […]

    Reply
  • […] https://jehanara.wordpress.com/2008/04/27/flying-out-of-karachi/The porter was polite, amicable and whizzed my baggage through security, check-in and x-ray with amazing speed and acumen. 2. The guy at the security desk in the departure lounge was very helpful and told me not to pick up my … […]

    Reply
  • 6. Faisal Khan  |  May 20, 2008 at 2:44 am

    The one thing I hate about Karachi Airport is that forced walk through the narrow duty free, why make them forcefully walk through that contraption is beyond me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


