Near miss!

April 30, 2008 at 8:01 am 2 comments

I went out last night. Needed to get out of the hotel where I have been cooped up for the past few days. The Roundtable is in the Ballroom of the hotel where I am staying – the Seri Pacific Hotel in Kuala Lumpur.

I decided to take the Light Rail instead of a cab. Always a lot more fun to use public transportation when it is available. Walked to the terminal armed with my street map feeling like quite the adventurer. First stop was Times Square where the Borders Bookstore sign attracted my attention. I was going up the long escalator when a young child (must have been 3 years old) whose parents and uncle had decided to let him ride totally independently on the escalator (they were slightly ahead of him), tripped and fell.

We were almost three quarters of the way up and if I hadn’t blocked his fall and grabbed onto his legs, he would have gone all the way down. Of course by trying to block his fall, I nearly fell backwards. Dread what could have happened if I hadn’t been able to stabilize myself. As it is I am scared of heights. These bones would have taken quite a hit!

Anyway, all’s well that ends well. The young man bawled away but was not really hurt. All he lost was his ice-cream cone, half of which was all over my jeans. His wailing stopped when the cone was quickly replaced for him by his parents, who were very grateful for my intervention.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Intellectual Property and all that jazz Technology galore!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fariha Akhtar  |  May 1, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    Aww…this fella should have at least bought u an ice cream cone too for risking urself while saving him😛

    Reply
  • 2. Web Designing Karachi  |  September 9, 2010 at 8:44 am

    A near miss is an unplanned event that did not result in injury, illness, or damage – but had the potential to do so. Only a fortunate break in the chain of events prevented an injury, fatality or damage. Although human error is commonly an initiating event, a faulty process or system invariably permits or compounds the harm, and should be the focus of improvement

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


