Technology galore!

May 1, 2008 at 5:54 am 5 comments

My visit to any city is incomplete unless I am able to visit the main hub of gadgetry in the city. That would be unforgiveable. So the first chance I got, I took the train to Low Yat Plaza and Imbi Plaza – both within a few metres of each other and rumoured to be havens for tech lovers.

Obviously I wasn’t the only one with the idea of rushing off to the computer hub of KL. I was not surprised to run into most of the delegates who had been at the WIPO conference. Although none of them would really admit why they were there – most of them vowing they were only trying to satisfy their curiosity about the place – I suspect it was something more. One of the participants at the conference had said that it was the place to go for “pirated” software and movies. Wonder if that is what drew them there?😉

I didn’t really have anything on my list that I needed to get. Just wanted to browse and see what was available. I finally saw the MacBook Air. Gosh what a sexy looking laptop. I wanted it so bad but just couldn’t justify getting one. But one day! For those who are unable to access WiFi and need to be wired, Apple’s USB Ethernet Adapter enables your wireless MBA to become a bit more wired by adding an RJ-45 that supports 10/100BASE-T at a mere cost of $29.

I did get myself a new rollable keyboard because the one I have has been used and abused for too long and some of the keys don’t work anymore. You get them in Karachi too but not this cool blue that is much funkier than the black and dark green that you get in Karachi.

I spent several hours in Low Yat Plaza looking at all the new mobile phones and the different types of laptops and peripherals that were on offer. Almost bought a few things but better sense prevailed and I headed back to the hotel without weighing myself down with things that I could easily get back home – and possibly at a better price.

It was a good outing though. Met a young man from Pakistan (who was with his Malaysian teacher – someone I had met at the WIPO event). He is in his final stages of completing his MS degree. Has been here for 6 years. Excited about the possibilities of joining the workforce back home. I asked him to look me up once he returns so that I can connect him with some people in the tech industry. Another example of the reverse brain drain that is taking place.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Near miss! Inventors wanted

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fariha Akhtar  |  May 1, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    MacBook Air is one of those things that is at the top of my wishlist but ahh….only if my pocket ever allows me to get one😦

    Reply
  • 2. Fariha Akhtar  |  May 1, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    that are*

    Reply
  • 3. Zakintosh  |  May 2, 2008 at 8:06 am

    Is there a special wi-fi card you are looking for, JA, other than the built-in 802.11n?

    MacBook Air is the most wireless of laptops. It even installs disc-based software wirelessly from another computer!!!

    http://www.apple.com/macbookair/wireless.html

    Do I want one? Yessss! In almost the same way as I want [CENSORED!].

    Reply
  • 4. Jehan  |  May 2, 2008 at 10:40 am

    Thanks for the clarification Zak. Now I want it even more.

    Reply
  • 5. Vic  |  May 4, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    This page discusses how to retrofit the Air with anywhere wireless connectivity using EVDO. I have not been able to find an equally positive page for GPRS or EDGE. I know that USB GPRS cards are available, but they are pretty huge and don’t fit into Macbook USB slots, so it is unlikely they will fit the Macbook Air.

    What this means is that the ‘most wireless’ of laptops basically are hard to use for connectivity away from WiFi areas. Which really aren’t available everywhere, and where they are, are often quite expensive to use.

    One last option is to use an EDGE/GPRS phone as a modem, but as you will find from this link, it doesn’t work out of the box.

    I don’t have $2,000 lying around, but if I had, I want everything to work out of the box.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


