How can I forgive myself for not knowing he was there?

May 28, 2008 at 11:06 pm 7 comments

This is what happens when there are parallel events taking place in one city. At WCIT 2008, apart from the main event, there were a dozen other events taking place simultaneously that week.

They had told us that WCIT 2008 incorporated a congress to address global impact issues, a Link Program for business matching that includes a series of structured business-to-business (B2B), business-to-government (B2G) and business-to-industry (B2I) meetings, an ICT exhibition, a debate on current ICT issues and ancillary activities like tours, golf tournament, F1 experience and a spouse program.

But never once did anyone mention that Guy Kawasaki was going to be there! He was in KL for 40 hours at the same time I was and I didn’t even know it! Woe is me! I am really so upset. What I wouldn’t give to go back in time so that I could meet Guy face-to-face, have him autograph some of his books for me that I have read and re-read many times, tell him what a regular follower I am of his blog, and just listen to him talk about the Mac and his days at Apple Computer Inc.

Here is a photo of Guy on board Cathay Pacific (it is borrowed from his blog post about his visit to KL) – wow I have never seen an airline seat like this one before. For more amazing pictures of KL and GK, do read the original post.

Nancy, I see you in one of the photos. Why didn’t you tell me Guy Kawasaki was at WCIT 2008? You and I met and you didn’t even mention it! Apparently he was there to partcipate in NetBash – another event that was on alongside the Main Event. How long shall I continue to whine? At least for the rest of the week, I promise you. Sob sob😦

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

When Fish Therapy does not mean having fish as a regular part of your diet … There is something very wrong when you see photos like this

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Babar Bhatti  |  May 29, 2008 at 1:27 am

    I was wondering why you did not mention him in your posts .. now I know🙂

    Dont worry about it … I’m sure you’ll run into him some day soon.

    Reply
  • 2. Teeth Maestro  |  May 29, 2008 at 1:27 am

    Yikes – that was one missed opportunity – sadly thats the problem with blogging – these blog celebrities can walk right past you and you will never know, only to curse like you did today.

    Next time make sure you have a guest list and their itinerary hacked from the congress database -I know you can do Jehan – Go Go Go

    Reply
  • 3. Jehan  |  May 29, 2008 at 6:37 am

    Thanks Babar and Awab for understanding my pain. I am on a mission to fix this lapse by either convincing him to come to Pakistan or to take my vacation (which is long overdue) to the next place where I can possibly meet him.

    Hey Awab, I would have known if he walked past me. The problem was that the event was taking place in 3 different venues adjacent to each other. The KL Convention Center in itself is huge – and then the two hotels alongside it. From his post i understand he was staying at the Nikko which wasn’t near either of these 3 venues so possibly there were additional venues that i didn’t know about.

    Reply
  • 4. Atif Sultan Ali Khan  |  May 29, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    I feel it… I feel your pain!

    Reply
  • 5. farzal  |  May 29, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    I like his amaana Orange shirt

    Texas Burnt Orange would be OK too

    Reply
  • 6. schmutzie  |  May 30, 2008 at 11:30 am

    You’re being featured on Five Star Friday:
    http://tinyurl.com/4w2evh

    Reply
  • 7. Zakintosh  |  June 8, 2008 at 8:35 am

    I had been fortunate enough (no, this is not to meant to make you feel jealous, sis) to meet him way back in the late 80’s when I had set up the Karachi Mac User Group and attended an international User Group session he addressed in Singapore. He publicly praised a copy of SMUG – the newsletter for Karachi’s Mac users – that I used to design/layout in MacDraw, on my beloved Mac SE. A copy that he signed which was proudly displayed at the next User Group meeting organized and supported by the maverick who (through UDL) ‘officially’ brought Apple into Pakistan: Sohail H Khan.

    I also attended, over the years, two other lectures of his – one at a Macromedia conference and another at UCSB New Media seminar. Brilliant speaker, presenter, writer!!! Although he has authored several books – and his Video lectures are superb, his earliest work, ‘The Macintosh Way’, is a book that is strongly recommended reading, even for those who hate the Apple phenomena – and I know that there are subhuman species who share this planet with us😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


