Waking up Google’s Consultant!

June 13, 2008 at 2:20 pm 5 comments

There was a time that Badar Khushnood, Google’s Consultant in Lahore, used to think I was a nice person. But this is true no more. What have I done to get into his bad books? Nothing very atrociious by my standards … but I will let you be the judge.

Whenever I am travelling, I try and utilise every moment that I have. Hence hotel rooms are a bit wasted on me. I had 2 days at my disposal in Lahore. Sunday was more or less spent hobnobbing and strategizing with the Central Executive Committee of P@SHA.

So I decided that on Monday, before I took the 6 pm flight back home, I needed to meet up with at least 7 or 8 people. I phoned Badar and asked him to meet me at 8:30 a.m. at the PC for breakfast because the rest of my meetings were in different parts of town. More about that later (the reason Imran Zia doesn’t like me much anymore either)!

Poor Badar works late hours so 8.30 am meetings are not quite what he relishes. However, how could he say no? We hadn’t met for a while and there was some catching up to do, ideas to exchange and plans to make. Thanks Badar – I am sure you will agree that our discussions were worth it. Let us move ahead with the action items. You do forgive me, right? How could you not!🙂

Now for why Imran is peeved with me (although he is too nice a guy to let that affect our friendship). When I planned my visits to various tech companies in Lahore, I didn’t keep the street map of Lahore in mind so poor Imran kept driving me from one side of town to another through the day. At the end of our excursion, he gently told me that next time it might be prudent to hold a bunch of sessions in one locality and then proceed to the next. Ooops … sorry my friend. Will do.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

No Sundays off for the wicked! Food for the intellect & the soul at Stevie’s Wok

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Teeth Maestro  |  June 13, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    You call that guy to meet up with you at 8:30 am ON a MONDAY morning – thats is CRUEL –

    I hope that Badar thought the meeting was worth it or else I would join him in throwing you to the dawgs

    Bichara I have pity on Badar

    Reply
  • 2. Jehan  |  June 13, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    Me cruel? Naaah … you guys are spoilt. I had American customers who always insisted on asking us to come over for Power Breakfasts at 8 am. Recently when I attended WCIT in KL, the Deputy Minister for IT had a breakfast meeting with all country delegations at 7.30 am. But I am sorry for Badar too because I know he stays up all hours of the night working with the US HQ. You want to throw me to the the dawgs Awab? Hmmm … such violence😉

    Reply
  • 3. Fariha Akhtar  |  June 14, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    “….throwing you to the dawgs…” Female harassment again! Btw this reminds me that I still need to start working on that project to fight against female harassment…no wonder Dr.Awab will be my first target…the snap shots of his comment would be an evidence enought😛

    Reply
  • 4. babushka99  |  June 15, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    Jehan everyone’s just jealous of you, because your kung-fu is better than theirs!

    Reply
  • 5. Jehan  |  June 15, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    Thanks Fariha and Faisal – MY champions!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


