Just call me Dr. Jehan

June 18, 2008 at 7:27 am 4 comments

At the Dawn Banking & Technology Conference yesterday, one of the speakers kept referring to me as Doctor Saheba. He said it so many times during his speech, and then again during Q&A, that at the end of the session, even I began to wonder if I had got a doctorate at some stage when I wasn’t looking😉

When the Moderator  jokingly told him that if he called me Doctor one more time, I would probably be conferred a degree by one of the Universities represented there, he was unruffled, and said “Well she should be!”🙂 I didn’t have the heart to tell him that, much as I appreciated the fact that he thought so highly of me, being conferred a PhD would not add to who I was or to what I was doing. I am not trying to take anything away from those who spend years getting a PhD – it is just something I have never hankered for.

Strangely enough, a friend told me yesterday that she has noticed that ever since she put a Doctor before her name, people have started treating her differently – apparently with much more respect. Hmmm …

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Terrific to see such enthusiasm and commitment Meet Amaar Ikhlas whom I met through my blog

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vic  |  June 18, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    We apparently hunger to slot people into roles, and the addition of the Dr. prefix is one that guarantees that you were either solvent or footloose enough (or both: there are more alternatives in addition) to spend years acquiring a doctoral degree.

    While no guarantee that either you or the world benefited from your doing so, it is commonly regarded that one or other (or both, there really aren’t many other choices) did.

    And you do deserve a doctoral degree, honorary if you find the thought of returning to academia daunting, it being also a recognition of noteworthy public service.

    Reply
  • 2. farzal  |  June 18, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    regarding the expo yesterday, pata-flop was being defined as one thousand trillion, calculations per DAY.

    it should have been per second

    Reply
  • 3. Fariha Akhtar  |  June 18, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    Oh I might have come to that conference but ahh…my cruel CTO and PM slipped away without even informing me😦

    Btw did you ask that speaker if he took you as a Ph.D doctor or a MBBS/BDS doctor? I have seen quite a many dentists jumping into the field of IT so, he might have thought you to be one of them😛

    Reply
  • 4. Arsalaan Haleem  |  June 18, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    Jehan Ara, how come no one post on yesterday’s event? I specially logged on to read something about it but got disappointed.:-((

    Please put up an interesting post even it is on your own presentation.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


