Is this what we are resorting to for entertainment?

July 10, 2008 at 10:29 am 2 comments

Tell me, can something like this be remotely considered entertainment? No I am not crazy. I have a reason for asking this question.

The other day as I headed home from work after what had been a pretty harrowing day with back-to-back meetings, only 15 minutes to gobble down some fruit at around 3 pm (and I still don’t lose weight – argggh!) and pots of freshly brewed coffee to keep me going, I was dying to get home and chill.

It is normally a 25 minute drive and pretty smooth. Not that day though. The traffic on Shahrah-e-Faisal was chock-a-block. I grumbled to myself that there must be VIP movement due to which the traffic was held up. As we edged forward at a snail’s pace, and I got closer to where the blockage appeared to be, I noticed that there was a 5-car pileup in the lane to the extreme right. The reason why the rest of the traffic was held up was because all the cars in the adjacent lanes slowed down to see if they could get a glimpse of what had happened. It was this curiosity that was responsible for the huge traffic jams.

This morning I noticed it again on my way to work. There was an accident involving two motorbikes that shouldn’t really have impacted too much on the rest of the traffic but it did because everyone who passed by in all parallel lanes slowed down to see what was going on.

Are we really that short on entertainment that scenes like car pileups or accidents are of so much interest to us that we are willing to cause a holdup of traffic just so we can get a quick glimpse? Sigh!

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

P@SHA Career Expo 2008 at the Marriott, Karachi on July 20 A wedding in the IT community

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sadia z.  |  July 21, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    On a general level, i agree that most motorists tend to slow down to simply indulge in curiosity of what may have happened and what the damages are. I believe there are still those few who slow down or stop to check if help is required for the ones involved in the accident… we are out there, arent we?

    Reply
  • 2. Jehan  |  July 21, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    Yes Sadia, there certainly are a few of us who would slow down or stop to see if we can assist but believe me it is a minority.🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


