Ever have one of those days when you wished you had stayed in bed?

August 8, 2008 at 10:56 pm 7 comments

Well, I had that sort of day today! I got up very early, put finishing touches to a presentation I had to make at 9 at the Sheraton and headed out with barely enough time to make it to the meeting. Made it 5 mins before I was supposed to.

As I connected my laptop to the projection system, there was a mini explosion and my MacBook Pro died. It just wouldn’t start. And this had to be the one time I didn’t have my presentation on a flash drive. So I had to adlib it.

After my meeting I went to the computer doctor to find out what was wrong with the MBP. He said obviously something had blown but he would have to keep it so that it could be checked out. He gave me the hard disk and it was so sweet of him to loan me a MacBook Air so that my work wouldn’t be interrrupted (ohhhhhhh the MacBook Air is so cool! I am lusting over it)

As I left the computer shop, a woman reversed her car into mine smashing the left front side of the car and shaking me up completely. And then she had the gall to tell me off! I was so stunned that I just looked at her and let her drive away.

I went back to the office but the elevator wasn’t working and I didn’t have the energy to walk up 5 flights so I came home and worked out of the house the remainder of the day. As I pondered over my day, I thought “Should I have got out of bed this morning?” 

This week has been really rough with my father giving us quite a scare, and now the laptop and the car. Boy am I glad the week has come to an end. I will start afresh next week.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

The constant stream of visitors in Pindi spoke volumes Well done Rabia!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fariha Akhtar  |  August 9, 2008 at 12:13 am

    Aww…never mind as it is commonly said “whatever happens, happens for the good”🙂 But I’m somehow feeling jealous of you right now :$ you got MacBook Air….MashAllah!🙂 Do let me know about that computer shop, I will blow up my hmm no not mine rather my office pc and will take it to that shop for repair😛

    Reply
  • 2. Muneeb  |  August 9, 2008 at 1:17 am

    very true.
    let me know the shop name too.

    Fariha, I’ve seen you somewhere😀

    Reply
  • […] This cup of tea was served by: In the Line of Wire […]

    Reply
  • 4. DesiBackToDesh  |  August 9, 2008 at 5:22 am

    Friday afternoon blues…I recommend spend half a day with a tin of Nestle Cream (the old round ones), peach jam and toasted bread. There is no blues in the world that this combo won’t fix.

    Also its about time that you bought an Air and a new car to go with it.🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Jehan  |  August 9, 2008 at 6:46 am

    @Fariha and Muneeb, he doesn’t give just anyone a Macbook Air on loan. In fact i think he was a bit nervous about handing over this one to me but he has known me for a long time and I moaned and groaned about how my life would come to a standstill without a laptop. He probably just wanted to get rid of me at that stage so he told me to pick it up from T2F where it had been sent temporarily.

    @Jawwad, my brother is going to be here from London this morning and I hope he is bringing crumpets – toasted crumpets with butter and jam should make me feel better.

    Sure I need a new MBAir and a new car – and which bank should I rob to make it all happen? I do love this MBAir though. It is soooooo light, so fast!

    Reply
  • 6. عمار - aMmAr  |  August 9, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    They say if anything can go wrong it will.

    Reply
  • 7. Shafaq (SIZ)  |  August 17, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    Yes Jahan 100% rite! I would say somedays are really bad days… whn everything stands up against u like Hell :@ and u simply can’t help it😦 u want the earth to quake truely :D….
    but to be optimist this is the very day which ignities a new urge/motivation in u for more energetic, active and lovely day to come…🙂

    Happy Living!

    SIZ

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


