Wake up and take charge!

August 19, 2008 at 10:09 am 11 comments

The doc says it is wear and tear, aggravated by some extra pressure put on the knees recently.

That is why I am going to sue Adnan Agboatwalla. Yes it is time for a vendetta – that appears to be the general mood. So what if Adnan has always been nice to me. He has sublet P@SHA great office space. He has always readily sponsored SI sessions and various P@SHA activities. He always has something funny to say and provides honest feedback.

BUT nonetheless….. i am going to hold him responsible for the pain I am going through. Walking up 5 flights every day when there is no electricity is to blame for the condition I am in. Why isn’t the elevator on a generator?

Hey I have to blame someone. It couldn’t possibly be my fault, could it? It couldn’t be that I have never taken care of my muscles and bones. Nope it just has to be someone else’s fault. So why not pick on Adnan!

What the hell am I talking about, you may ask. Well, I went to my orthopaedist last night because from Friday onwards, my knees have been giving me a lot of trouble. In fact sitting down or standing up results in torturous pain – more so in the right knee than in the left. I have never been able to bear pain so off I went to the doc after my teleconference ended at 7.15 pm.

The orthopaedist, a very handsome and pleasant one I must add, is used to me bringing in my dad for problems related to his back and legs. When he saw me walk in alone, he asked what was up. I told him my knees were giving me trouble. He fired the following questions at me immediately: “They are relatively okay when you are walking on a straight surface? Sitting down and standing up or walking up and down stairs is when the torture begins?” I replied in the affirmative to all those questions. He shook his head and said “wear and tear”. Then he asked “Do you want to stem the tide and lead a long and pain-free existence?” I nodded enthusiastically.

“Well then,” he said “you must do exactly what I say.” Oh oh … that sounded ominous. He examined the knees and confirmed that his suspicions were correct. Told me to get xrays done so that he could see the extent of the wear and tear, prescribed anti-inflammatory pills and painkillers and a muscle relaxant. And of course he said i had to go for at least 20 sessions of physio. I grimaced but said I would. Warm oil massage was also part of the therapy that was suggested.

“After we have brought the inflammation down I want you to do just one thing for me,” said the handsome doctor. “Start swimming.” Apparently swimming is the best form of exercise to keep the muscles and bones in optimal condition. He told me that although only the knees had complained so far, we didn’t know what condition the rest of the muscles were in. One sure way to fix the problems that wear and tear are bound to bring is to swim. Hmmmmm. I am too old to learn, aren’t I, I asked. I had practised drowning a few times but had never swam. His answer: It is never too late. Sigh!

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Umar Saif does it again! Not a happy camper!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fariha Akhtar  |  August 19, 2008 at 10:37 am

    I hope you get well soon. You are right these muscular aches and pains can be really tortuous..I always keep MOOV and pain relieving plasters in my purse😛
    Btw didn’t the doc ask you drink lots’n’lots of milk?? I have always heard it’s good for bones🙂

    Stay healthy..my prayers!

    Reply
  • 2. Teeth Maestro  |  August 19, 2008 at 11:45 am

    The dental doctor advises this advise for your knees

    Music Video by OK band do it once a day adn all you aliments ‘might’ dissipate

    LOL have fun and take care of those knees

    Reply
  • 3. afia  |  August 19, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    The doc isn’t only handsome and pleasant, he is very polite… imagine describing plain old age as ‘wear and tear’😉

    Reply
  • 4. Syed Talha Izhar  |  August 19, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Get well sooon…🙂

    maybe jogging would do the same as swimming…

    Reply
  • 5. Jehan  |  August 19, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    @Fariha, I have always loved milk so that is an easy one. Thank you for your good wishes and your prayers.
    @Teeth Maestro, I wish I could – will have to wait until the inflammation is down. It cheered me up though🙂
    @Afia – you are a nasty woman. It is a mystery how we have remained friends for decades.
    @Talha, jogging is actually harmful for the knees you know.

    Reply
  • 6. Vic  |  August 19, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    @Afia: another translation that comes quickly to mind is ‘neglect’, since anything, even engine bearings, work well for longer when properly maintained.

    @Fariha: Not unlike jogging (which is dangerous when done repeatedly on hard ground), milk can also be unhealthy for many humans. Having said which, the calcium in milk (and other foods, fortunately) is very useful, especially for women, who tend to lose body calcium at a higher rate than the general population.

    @Jehan: luckily, milk is available in useful mixtures, such as chocolate😉

    Reply
  • 7. Boat  |  August 19, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    What can I say?

    Ugh! See you in the courts!

    Reply
  • 8. Jehan  |  August 19, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Hey Adnan, why pay the lawyers? Let’s try and settle out of court😉

    Reply
  • 9. Vic  |  August 19, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    @Jehan, @Adnan: at the gym?

    Reply
  • 10. Boat  |  August 19, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    See you in the Gym!!

    Reply
  • 11. Jehan  |  August 20, 2008 at 8:08 am

    Hey Boat didn’t see you at the physiotherapist’s last evening. When I said let us settle out of court I meant you offer me money so that I don’t sue you. Some people need everything spelt out!🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


