The best gift a brother can give a sister

August 21, 2008 at 12:21 pm 4 comments

My baby brother Samar (over 6 foot tall – a Chartered Accountant/Company Secretary living in London) was recently here for 4 days. His trips to Karachi are normally flying visits but at least we get to see him and catch up on what’s happening in his life.

He and his wife Faiza alway comes loaded with chocolates, shortbread and cakes as well as other goodies – some edible, others not. This time was no different. However, the first day he was here he asked me if I didn’t think that the 15″ television set in my bedroom was a tad bit too small. I shrugged and said “No not really.” I usually have it running in the background – mostly news channels – and my bedroom is not that large so it suffices. And I am only home at night so don’t have much time to watch it anyhow. My father has a 42″ plasma in his room (given to him by my baby brother on one of his previous visits) so should I want to watch tennis or cricket on a larger screen, I can always watch it with him in his room.

Obviously Samar didn’t think that made sense at all so the next day when I got home from work, I found him walking in with a 32″ Sony Brava television. He moved my 15″ television set onto the floor and installed this smashing new plug-and-play system in its place (that is why Jawwad Farid wants to be adopted by him).

As an elder sister I had to of course chide him for wasting money but I think my fascination with the new television made the scolding quite ineffective🙂.

Much as I love the television and all the other goodies that he brought, there was one gift that he gave me (or rather something he gave himself) that I consider the best gift of all.

Ever since he went to England years ago to study, Samar had started smoking. Ammi and I had often tried to convince him to give it up for health reasons. But like most smokers he kept saying that he had reduced the number of cigarettes he smoked, blah blah blah blah …. When he arrived in Karachi this time he told me that he had stopped smoking (NOT ‘given it up’ because that sounds like a sacrifice). This had happened a week back after he had attended a 5-hour workshop/counseling session. No gift he has ever given me has meant as much to me as this. I have often worried about his lungs, his heart, his BP and the general state of his health but I had stopped nagging him about it because I knew that the only way he would stop smoking would be if he decided that it was time to stop. I am glad that time has come. I know it is early days but I also know him. Once he makes a decision to do something, he does it. Well done baby brother! Now I can stop worrying🙂

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Startup Insiders Session #11 at the Avari Hotel in Lahore When they start calling you a Pioneer …

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The best gift a brother can give a sister | Tea Break  |  August 21, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    […] This cup of tea was served by: In the Line of Wire […]

    Reply
  • […] artofnet wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI have often worried about his lungs, his heart, his BP and the general state of his health but I had stopped nagging him about it because I knew that the only way he would stop smoking would be if he decided that it was time to stop. … […]

    Reply
  • 3. communicall  |  August 21, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    How serendipitous! Both siblings choosing the same time to make sweeping changes: you with your exercise and therapeutic leg recovery treatment, and him eschewing cigarettes.

    Good news comes in threes, so what’s next?

    Reply
  • 4. Jehan  |  August 21, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    Aaaaah but that would be telling!😉 You will just have to wait and watch.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


