When they start calling you a Pioneer …

August 22, 2008 at 10:34 am 11 comments

… does that mean that you should be thinking of turning in your laptop and mouse? Is this an indication that you will soon be put out to pasture? That was the question I asked myself when Rabia Garib and CIO Pakistan gave out the Technology Pioneer Awards at their launch event.

Hey but wait a minute! Amongst the pioneers were young people like Naila Kasim, Khurram Kalia and Umar Saif (yes he is young!). So age was certainly not a consideration.

I must admit I have never thought of myself as a pioneer, although at Enabling Technologies, Zak, Nuz, Sabeen and I did come up with some firsts in the area of multimedia in the early nineties when multimedia was just a buzz word in this country and no-one really knew its potential. I remember the media played it up quite a bit (Rabia must have been a toddler then:) ) and it felt good being part of a team that was doing something different and exciting. Times have changed and now it gives me a high to talk about, and promote, young people who are producing innovative solutions in ICT.

Over the years there have been some awards given out in this country where one is supposed to nominate oneself (no CIO is not one of those). I remember being approached a couple of times to nominate myself for one award or another, but I felt it was pretty odd to fill in a document stating why I should be recognized for something noteworthy that I had done. Naturally I thanked them but refused to do any such thing. Isn’t recognition something that someone else bestows on you because they feel you deserve it?

Having said that, I have to admit that the award given to me by CIO made me feel good. It wasn’t for being a pioneer (so I guess there is still time before I am put out to pasture). It was in recognition for my “Special contribution to the Pakistan iT industry”.

I don’t know if the contribution I have made is worth acknowledging but I certainly do know one thing.  I have great faith in the IT industry and where it is headed. There is already a lot of innovation taking place. There are successful business models. There is a cluster of people and companies across the country who have proven that no challenge or hurdle is big enough to keep them back. Many products and solutions developed by these companies have been recognized around the world and we should really be proud to be part of such a vibrant sector. I know I am, and I feel privileged to do whatever little I can to  project the work that is being done by the Pakistan IT industry, and to support the efforts of the many talented people that I have come to know over the years.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

The best gift a brother can give a sister Haris Nadeem – an amazing young blogger!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. When they start calling you a Pioneer … | Tea Break  |  August 22, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    […] This cup of tea was served by: In the Line of Wire […]

    Reply
  • 2. Fariha Akhtar  |  August 22, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    Congratulations🙂

    Reply
  • 3. talhaizhar  |  August 22, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    I think you deserve an award for your contribution to the IT industry. I dont remember for how long but ever since I have been following the IT sector you are one of those people I remember. Even my dad, who is a completely not IT person, recognizes one person from the IT associations and IT companies and its you.

    Reply
  • 4. Syed Talha Izhar  |  August 22, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    And Congratulations for the award..🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Jehan  |  August 22, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Thanks Fariha and Talha but just remember one thing. In this new age of media hype, you should not believe everything you read about someone in newspapers and magazines or be impressed because someone is seen often on television. I remember when Spider magazine ran a cover story on me as the Web gurll, I received several calls from potential clients asking if I would develop their websites. They said that they wanted the best company for the job and since Spider said I was the web expert, they came straight to me. A bit naive of them, don’t you think?😉

    Reply
  • 6. Syed Talha Izhar  |  August 22, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    But as a school/college going boy I didnt look at what was written I just knew who was in the papers or news🙂 Now I dont do that anymore I read every bit and verify it.🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Arsalaan Haleem  |  August 22, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    Ever since I started following news/coverage of the IT sector, the one person whom I always found being focussed on was – YOU.

    So, heartiest Congratulations…you truly deserve all the accolodes you get.

    Reply
  • 8. Ziad Asim  |  August 26, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    Congratulations! but I truly believe that no award could be worth for your continuous efforts for the promotion of the IT industry in Pakistan and getting Pakistani IT industry recognized around the world.

    You’ve done amazing job over the years and I ‘THANK YOU’ on behalf of every person attached to IT Industry for this.

    Reply
  • 9. Atif Sultan Ali Khan  |  August 27, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    When people start calling you a pioneer… its time to retire and do something else… hence letting me do your job…

    Reply
  • 10. Jehan  |  August 27, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    So many kind comments – I am embarrassed

    @Atif, has anyone known me to be the retiring sort?😉

    Reply
  • 11. Babar  |  September 11, 2008 at 1:19 am

    Cooooongratulations!! Well deserved and look forward to you doing more great work for the Pakistani youth, IT industry and blogistan🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


