I want to own Karachi but …

September 17, 2008 at 6:59 am 11 comments

I think the City District Government’s new “I own Karachi” program is a good one. The only thing that kept me (and several others) from going and applying for the card was our unwillingness to queue up for several hours at Civic Center. Yes I am lazy and there just aren’t enough hours in a day. Now if they had wifi throughout the city, I might consider it😉

Yesterday I noticed that there was an online form on the CDGK website so I started filling it up to volunteer my time on Saturday and Sunday evening to help in the area of Services for Education and Public Awareness and also to volunteer to participate in the Suggestion Committee. I was excited that I would finally be able to do something concrete to help the City Government instead of just grumbling about the state of the city.

I wish there had been an option in the form which asked for volunteers to switch off the street lights which remain on till way past 10 am sometimes. Talk about saving energy – we may not need to consider an extra holiday or close down the petrol pumps on Friday if we switch off the street lights at dawn. Anyway, no such volunteer task existed. So I figured I would start somewhere and volunteer for the tasks that were available. It didn’t happen though. Why not?

Well, I tried to fill in my Date of Birth but that field wouldn’t work. Actually I don’t understand why they need to know how old I am. Why ask for more information than you need? I can understand them wanting my NIC number and my contact information but my date of birth?  I wonder if their site has a Privacy Policy. Must check so that I will know who will have access to my information and what they plan to do with it.

Anyway, I wasn’t able to complete the form – maybe it is not “Mac friendly”. So I guess I will have to own Karachi in my own way and continue to do things without having the “I own Karachi” card. I don’t need a card to do what I can for the city. Just thought it would be cool to have one.🙂

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Couldn’t resist putting up this quote I wanna hang out at Google anywhere!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. I want to own Karachi but … | Tea Break  |  September 17, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    […] This cup of tea was served by: In the Line of Wire […]

    Reply
  • 2. IC  |  September 17, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    wifi in whole karachi… that’s a mission…

    And I agree with useless date of birth entry… if it’s volunteer work, they could care less who volunteers..

    P.S. nice blog..

    Reply
  • 3. awahid  |  September 18, 2008 at 6:49 am

    I think they will assign task according to age.

    Reply
  • 4. Fawzia  |  September 18, 2008 at 8:33 am

    Thank for writing about this. I saw Mustafa Kamal on TV advertising this and thought it was a good idea but didn’t have enough details. Let us know when someone succeeds in filling in that form – I am no fan of standing in lines.

    PS: It would be cool to have the ‘I own Karachi’ card but it would be cooler to coordinate and contribute to this beautiful city.

    Reply
  • 5. Ziad Asim  |  September 18, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    I tried to register and on clicking the provided link after sometime below message page appeared.

    “The server at 125.209.91.254 is taking too long to respond.”

    No matter how good an initiative is the execution plan is required to support it and that is whats missing with government pretty badly.

    Reply
  • 6. Vic  |  September 19, 2008 at 8:28 am

    I remember reading, years ago, a very nice article on ‘inpert’ thinking – it was about people putting common sense to work. One example, for instance, was a NASA engineer who noticed that some very expensive heat sinks looked similar to his wife’s cheap hair rollers – he substituted the hair rollers and saved NASA mucho $$$$ in costs.

    Now, wrt ‘owning’ Karachi, probably the need to filter out outsiders (non-Kolachiwale) makes some rudimentary ID check necessary, but doing an ID check calls for resource allocation at the server. Who knows, till it is done, how heavy that should be? So right off the bat, if the site is slow, well, too bad, but hopefully the operators will add the resources necessary to match up with demand.

    Why ask for age? It takes a big jump in governmental, bureaucratic, thinking, to realise that you don’t need to decide what tasks to assign volunteers. Volunteering is precisely that, people getting involved. Sure, some will want, enthusiastically, to do things that don’t best suit their capabilities – a good FAQ will help cut down the overhead, but generating a good FAQ will take experience. Very few city governments anywhere in Asia have the experience of involving citizens in making their lives better, so bound to be a few creaks and groans along the way.

    I do hope this initiative takes off. I do hope that people of good will keep joining it, and kicking off their own as well. And finally, I do hope this example is noticed and emulated across South Asia.

    Reply
  • 7. Danish Kharadi  |  September 19, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    U can register your self by Phone

    call @ 1339

    enroll your self in City Owners Program

    Reply
  • 8. Jehan  |  September 19, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    There you go – Danish has solved the problem of the queues and the online form by giving us a phone number we can call to register. I shall try and register by phone tomorrow. Wish me luck.

    Reply
  • 9. Mohammed Dhanji  |  September 28, 2008 at 7:11 am

    guys this is funny go to http://www.karachicity.gov.pk/ & under employment, entertainment etc u dont have anything…

    trying to find the form..it is a mission… but i hope it works, I will call tommoro.

    Today I was going towards Tariqroad Allah Wala Signal and I saw couple of volunteers controling the traffic signals, and really from the atmosphere and even the conversation in the car, it seemed that atlast now Pakistani’s dont have some one to bribe and crime.

    It is a important awereness program & if karachi was an educated city then there should’nt have been ques in Civic Centre in the first place & I’m sure it took the government by surprise and shortages of registration forms. I think people here need a stick to walk and really dont know which direction to head.

    People who really love karachi dont need a badge if hes eager enough to really do something. I agree with Mustafa Kamal on the point being we should take ownership of the land near us and make Karachi a Healthier & Better City. & if you want to do more just start driving sensibly and please follow the signals and have some patience on the road, it might save 100 of lives from brain tumer.

    Reply
  • 10. SHAHBAZ RAZA  |  February 5, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    sir
    mein internet ke zarye i own karachi form ki registration karwana chata ho plzz mere ko tarika batay y phir ko website plzzzzz…

    Reply
  • 11. Syed Muhammad Haroon  |  March 25, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    These are the links :

    http://www.iownkarachi.com/

    http://125.209.91.254:82/iok/ASPX/Register.aspx

    http://www.karachicity.gov.pk/

    I think these will help you all

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


