Why do I feel sorry for him?

October 9, 2008 at 10:17 am 9 comments

In days of yore, you will recall there were numerous nuisance calls on PTCL landlines – I remember even my mother had to fend off callers in the middle of the night (we guessed it was either phone operators or young people who were studying for exams and were bored) who phoned and asked “khala” (aunty) what she was doing and couldn’t she talk to them for a while.

Many of us got calls when the voice at the other end said, in what they assumed was their sexiest voice, “aap say baat karni hai” (I want to speak with you)  when asked whom they wanted to speak to. Sometimes you even got the heavy breather who said  nothing at all.

Then came email spam. This continues till today and filters are not really totally effective. Sometimes you find legit business mail, or mail from friends, going into spam, whereas you are still stuck with getting messages telling you where you can purchase unmentionable products and services, not to mention lots of marketing spam for all sorts of things – from computers & accessories to shoes, seafood products and seminar/exhibition notices like the one mentioned by Zak on his blog.

As if this was not annoying enough, this was followed by the spamming on mobile phones. It started with your mobile operator sending you all sorts of messages that you didn’t need or want, and now of course they are making your number available (at a price no doubt) to marketing companies who spam you with all sorts of smses. Shouldn’t there be a law against this? And if one exists, shouldn’t someone be implementing it?

Why am I whining about this particularly today? Well, for the past two days someone had been sending me smses at all times of the day and night. They were all from one person. Here are some that i remember:

Good morning dear.
What are you doing right now?
Why don’t you talk to me dear?
I want friendship with you.
Waiting for your response.
Waiting …waiting … waiting
Goodnite dear.

… and more of the same. Not even very creative. I mean if a person has to spam, the least they can do is be creatively original.🙂

When I got the first message, I thought it might be someone I knew who was kidding around so I sent a message back which said “Do I know you?”. He (i assume it was a man, since women have not been known to pull such stunts – yes i plead guilty to bias) said “No but i want to know you”. So I responded that I only communicated with people I knew and would he please stop messaging me. He didn’t give up. Said something like “You will know me once we communicate”. I said “No thank you – please stop bothering me” to which he responded with “Pls keep cool”.

By this time I had had it! So I sent one final message saying that if he didn’t stop bothering me I would report him to the FIA. He even responded to that by telling me that it was not good to lose my temper this way. I didn’t respond because by this time I had realized that my biggest mistake had been to reply to the first message.

Anyway, he kept sending messages all day and night trying to get me to respond in anger or out of mere frustration. I didn’t. Finally late last night my mysterious friend sent me what I hope marks the end of this saga. The message read: “This is my final message. Have a good life!” Why the hell do I find myself feeling sorry for him?

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

iPhone Magic at T2F Featuring Jahanzeb Sherwani If we allow …

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Why do I feel sorry for him? | Tea Break  |  October 9, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    […] This cup of tea was served by: In the Line of Wire […]

    Reply
  • 2. Vic  |  October 9, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    @jehan: Why the hell do I find myself feeling sorry for him?

    It takes a little humility to recognise that even stalkers and these kind of spammers are crying out for help and human contact, although their methods and ultimate objectives may be reprehensible. Most people lack that humility, or let their ego overcome their humanity.

    Reply
  • 3. Ayesha  |  October 9, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    Dear Jahanara ..i have wonderful inspirational story of an exceptional Pakistanii genius..can ii post it to you..it will be a source of inspiration for all those who read your blog daily thank

    Reply
  • 4. Ayesha  |  October 9, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    Oh i am extremely sorry..Jahaara..that the posts are repeated…earlier..lon stiuff post were not displayed..so i divided into chunks..latter on..it was appeared..again very sorry..i hope you wiil forgive me..thanks…

    Reply
  • 5. Rafaeel Akbar  |  October 10, 2008 at 1:33 am

    Well, i would like to give an opinion that as far as i know cellular operators have very strict policy of customer privacy.They don’t leak records to anyone other than the security agencies and police.However, there are mass messaging softwares available in the market which send such messages.

    For example you can just include the series like from 03xx-2000000 to 03xx-2999999 and the message would be broadcast to all the numbers.You just have to buy a GSM Modem or GSM Phone and attach it to your computer via serial port. bluetooth or IR and off u go!

    There are few numbers from which i daily get tens of Islamic teachings and related messages.But i have not been complaining coz i feel they are spreading the religious word.However, some operators are providing “Block Number” services and you can keep the offender/s off from ur cell phone by subscribing to that service.

    Reply
  • 6. Jehan  |  October 10, 2008 at 6:47 am

    @ Vic, yes I guess that is why I felt sorry for him because although it was a nuisance for me, at some level my humanity told me that loneliness and the need to connect with another human being might have been the reason for the multiple messages he kept sending. I wouldn’t encourage it but I suppose I can understand it.

    @ Rafaeel, although I am a bit cynical about all cellular operators actually abiding by their customer privacy, I take your point about the messaging software and marketing services that are available out there. Yes I did consider the Block Number services which I suppose is the only way to deal with mass and frequent messages from certain numbers.

    @ Ayesha, thanks for introducing us to the accomplishments of Sabieh and AbuBakr. A lot of talent out there. All we have to do is look.

    Reply
  • 7. Zakintosh  |  October 11, 2008 at 8:21 am

    May I suggest that you remove the long posts eulogizing two unique persons and post them into your blog itself where many more will read them. Here they are buried once the post is old … and also seem out of place as comments to this particular topic.

    Reply
  • 8. Ayesha  |  October 11, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    Yes. i agree…i hope respected Jahanear will take this suggestion into consideration as it will be more readable to all those who did not read it…its inspiration for whole Pakistan..thanks

    Reply
  • 9. Jehan  |  October 11, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    @Zak, remoived as suggested.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


