An unusual Hong Kong visit

November 20, 2008 at 5:50 am 3 comments

This trip to Hong Kong has certainly not turned out the way I had planned. I had thought I would stop over for a few days on my return from Jakarta to Karachi, rediscover old haunts, watch a movie or two, have a few yummy meals and just chill. It has been a very hectic and stressful year and I needed to recharge🙂

I also thought that my father would benefit from the change. He has old friends here and Hong Kong holds a lot of memories for us all. But unfortunately the best laid plans of mice and men (and women) can be totally upset by unexpected occurences.

In this case my father developed some sort of lung infection and was hospitalized so I cut short my visit to Jakarta and returned to Hong Kong a day early to be with him and care for him. It is not easy to see someone you care about in pain and discomfort. My brother and I are trying to do whatever we can to provide support and ensure that he recovers as soon as possible.

I spend most of my time in the hospital – by his side or in Starbucks – yes strange as it may seem there is a Starbucks in the Main Lobby of the hospital. When the nurses throw me out for a few hours, I walk the streets or take a ferry ride and then head back to the hospital. The weather is pleasant here these days (15 – 21 degrees Centigrade). I enjoy the walk  because it revitalizes me and the ride on the ferry clears away the cobwebs.

Junk on Victoria HarbourThe blue-green water of Victoria Harbour, that Imran Zia looked anxiously for in Jakarta, is soothing to look at. the ferry Christmas decorations are up making the atmosphere a little more festive despite the severe economic downturn news of which surrounds all of us wherever we go. Strategies for contending with it are different depending on whom you talk to.

unusual christmas treeA very different kind of Christmas tree/mall directory. I thought it looked quite cool.Christmas decoNot quite my type of christmas deco but everyone was taking a picture with this as a backdrop so I thought I would also take a snapshot of it.christmas on a wallNow that is the kind of graffiti I wouldn’t mind on a wall in Karachi. At least it looks pretty – certainly very different from the paan marks and the ugly ad posters.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Some lighter APICTA moments in pictures Is there a right way to lay off people?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. An unusual Hong Kong visit | Tea Break  |  November 20, 2008 at 6:21 am

    […] This cup of tea was served by: In the Line of Wire […]

    Reply
  • 2. عمار - aMmAr  |  November 20, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    I am sure that you are aware of the fact that the amount of support and love that you give everyone around you, the same amount of love, respect and support we all have for you and your family.

    In this time of difficulty we all pray for your father’s health. Please hang in there and may Allah bless your father with complete health. Ameen

    PS: Enjoy your stay in Hong Kong🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Fariha Akhtar  |  November 20, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    Prayers for your baba. Hope he gets well soon InshAllah.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


