Art at my doorstep

December 6, 2008 at 6:38 am 2 comments

hroad1Hong Kong was home to me for more than 25 years and I know most parts of it like the back of my hand so yesterday afternoon when I decided to take a break and go for a walk on Hollywood Road which is where my brother’s flat is, I looked around and thought: God how could I have not noticed all these art galleries? Does stress make one unobservant I wonder.

There were at least a dozen that I saw on the small stretch of road that I walked on. I went into a few of them – there were some really interesting contemporary art pieces that caught my attention. Some great sculpture too.

art-galleryframing shopThere was politically motivated art as well as graphic design pieces that were certainly unusual – some i liked, others that were blatantly based on the Chinese revolution that I didn’t take to much.

Some work by established local artists and newer pieces from up-and-coming young artists.

It seems there is an increasing tendency for artists to open up their own galleries although there are still a great number of places where  a variety of exhibitions take place – the largest ones being at City Hall and the Hong Kong Arts Center. Each time I visit Hong Kong I notice that there are more public spaces where art is displayed – skywalks, the MTR, even street art. Wonderful to see. Wish we could have more of that in Karachi.

sundramgallery

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Missing out :( I attended the KBM from Hong Kong

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


