Am I a failure?

January 5, 2009 at 9:09 pm 13 comments

Some people probably do not consider me much of a success I guess because I haven’t made millions in business. The thing is that I have never measured success in monetary terms. Does that mean I am a success after all? Who cares? I have started a couple of ventures, put a lot of passion and hard work into them and enjoyed myself thoroughly. I have learnt from everything I have done and everyone I have met, I have made good friends along the way and I have earned enough money to have the most delicious meals in restaurants all over the world, to buy gadgets I love, to travel, to buy books and music cassettes, cds, videos and dvds and spend lavishly on friends and family whenever I had the dough. What more could one want from life? I am content with the wonderful life I have led and the delightful people I have met along the way. And if, in commercial terms, or in any other terms, other people consider me a failure, I certainly am in good company.

So my message to all aspiring entrepreneurs is: Don’t be afraid of failure! It is the journey that is more important. And if you manage to change the world just a wee bit as you venture along that well-trodden path, consider yourself very fortunate. Not having tried at all would be criminal in my book🙂

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Entrepreneurship – then and now! If there was no Apple …

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Em  |  January 5, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    Lovely video, truly inspiring!

    Reply
  • 2. عمار - aMmAr  |  January 5, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    People love you and respect you, you are a source of inspiration to young and old, especially working women. If they call this a failure, then what is success?

    Reply
  • 3. Talha  |  January 5, 2009 at 11:36 pm

    You’re far from a failure.

    We all respect you “A LOT”.

    Reply
  • 4. Jehan  |  January 5, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    Hey guys thanks a lot but this was not supposed to be a fishing expedition for compliments. I just wanted everyone to focus on the fact that ‘failure’ is subjective – it means different things to different people. People measure it using different metrics. But whatever metrics they use, it is better to try doing what that “inner voice” tells you is important rather than waste your life doing something else. At least you will have tried and you will have loved the journey.🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Jehan  |  January 5, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    I also wanted to point out that what people think you are capable of isn’t really that important – it is what you think you are able to do that is. Look at this video and see the kind of people that everyone thought were failures.

    Reply
  • 6. Am I a failure? | Tea Break  |  January 6, 2009 at 12:22 am

    […] This cup of tea was served by: In the Line of Wire […]

    Reply
  • 7. Syed Sawant Ali Shah  |  January 7, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    Just like Will Smith says in The Pursuit of Happyness:

    You got a dream… You gotta protect it. People can’t do somethin’ themselves, they wanna tell you you can’t do it. If you want somethin’, go get it. Period.

    And yes, you are right, people have different notions about success. But I guess there has to be a difference between ‘greed’ (‘accumulation’) … and success.

    Reply
  • 8. Atif  |  January 7, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    As Iqbal so eloquently put it:

    Tund-e-baad-e-mukhalif say na ghabra ae auqaab
    Ye toe chaltee hay tujhay oocha oranay ke lye

    Reply
  • 9. Awais Naseer Keyani  |  January 8, 2009 at 12:07 am

    There are also a lot more examples e.g Neuton was expelled from school and was sitting sad under a tree when an apple fell down, he starting thinking over it that why the apple has fallen down instead of going upwards… thus came up with the “Force of Gravity”

    But one thing is to admired, ur video choice is wonderful!!

    Reply
  • 10. Em 2007-2008: A year in review - ‘axdimensions’ by Em  |  January 12, 2009 at 11:36 am

    […] the last one, I would like to give credit to Jehan Ara who recently shared an amazing video on her blog. Thank you […]

    Reply
  • 11. Em  |  January 13, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    Hello Ma’am,

    I need your assistance over a portal. Have sent you an email on your Gmail account – not sure if it might have landed in your spam folder :$ See if you got any email from ‘axdimensions@yahoo.com’

    Thanks!

    Reply
  • 12. Sharjeel Ahmed Qureshi  |  January 16, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    A founder of a very successful company once said “You’ll always have friends who’ll make more money than you”.

    At the end of the day, it all comes down to your self satisfaction.

    Reply
  • 13. Ammar Faheem  |  January 23, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    A very very inspiring video indeed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


