Hear ye … Hear ye … looking for Internet Success Stories

January 22, 2009 at 11:30 pm 7 comments

There is an initiative underway to collect and highlight success stories that have come about due to the emergence of the internet in Pakistan – peope whose lives have changed significantly. For instance the story of the young talented artist who is a dropout from school in Peshawar. He put up his art online and was able to get employment in an animation company in Islamabad. Possessing the natural talent that he does, he polished his skills and has now moved on to bigger and better things and is living his dream.

There have to be many similar stories – people for whom the Internet has been a blessing and has resulted in a better life, in opportunities they wouldn’t have had otherwise. If you know of someone who has a story to tell or if you yourself are the result of a transformation that owes itself to the Internet, email me or come talk to me.

I will pass on this information to my friend who will add it to the resource he has already collated. The purpose is to convince non-Internet believers of the usefulness of the Internet in changing lives and empowering economies or societies.

I will wait to hear from you.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Is this for real? Way to go TechLahore – I salute you!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. aamir attaa  |  January 22, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    I was Editor at a print Magazine, when suddenly i left the job before starting my blog. Now after only few months, i am earning 3 times of what i used to get with my previous job.

    Internet has given me the name, recognition, money, exposure, friends and what not!

    Reply
  • 2. bilish  |  January 22, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    Can I know about this artist? his website or may be link to deviant gallery or something. ??? I’m from Peshawar and this one needs to be posted on my blog too.🙂

    My friends who used to think about computers as something only for writing applications and other basic stuff are heading out and getting their own domains for their blogs. Change is the only way to survive and with time people will realize this. We only need to hang in there, keep doing what we should.

    Let me say it loud that people like you are evangelists, and you are doing a great service.

    Keep rocking!🙂

    Reply
  • […] This cup of tea was served by: In the Line of Wire […]

    Reply
  • 4. Arsalaan Haleem  |  January 25, 2009 at 6:17 am

    Twelve years back when I started using the Net I had no inclination that one day it will help me earn a decent salary. And, here I am, doing just that. Other than my day job, I work as a content writer for a couple of firms, which prior to this ‘wonder’ would not had been possible.

    And, as Aamir rightly pointed out that the internet, apart from giving us a chance to earn, has helped us to gain an exposure, make new friends and let us ‘see’ the world.

    Reply
  • Hear ye … Hear ye … looking for Internet Success Stories…

    There is an initiative underway to collect and highlight succ …

    Reply
  • 6. dultflumn  |  February 17, 2009 at 10:53 am

    Your are Great. And so is your site! Awesome content. Good job guys! Interesting article, adding it to my favourites!

    Reply
  • 7. adeel  |  April 26, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    I m running social networking site for expats living in GCC
    hope I will get some success to🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


