In the Line of Wire – in conversation with ZeeShan Ahmed

February 2, 2009 at 9:58 am 11 comments

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Fair & Lovely ka kamaal Pakistan Ranks #4 in SMS Usage

11 Comments Add your own

  • In the Line of Wire – in conversation with ZeeShan Ahmed…

          …

    Reply
  • 2. Obaid Ahmed  |  February 2, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    I think PakTranslations has to be the most innovative idea to come out of Pakistan recently (at least in my memory) .. Keep going guys! You are doing a great job!

    I translated mazaydar.com and it was amusing + fun.. give it a try http://paktranslations.com/?www.mazaydar.com
    🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Sadia  |  February 2, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    wow….i am sooo happy to see this idea…its lovely…..i like it…vry good idea and effort…keep it up

    Reply
  • 4. Fariha Akhtar  |  February 2, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    Brilliant! The concept that Pak Translations is based upon seems to be very much related to the concept of Semantic Web too…where the entire Web slowly and gradually intends to move. Zeeshan or somebody else..please correct me if I’m getting it wrong.

    Reply
  • 5. Yousuf  |  February 3, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    zeeshan might be wrong about not teaching grammer. unlike urdu, the pushtoo grammer is a lot more similar to english grammer🙂

    Reply
  • 6. ZeeShan Ahmed  |  February 4, 2009 at 9:16 am

    Fariha – Well I guess you are right but the term “semantic web” is too generalized.

    Yousuf – What did I ever say about not teaching grammar? We do translate grammar … at least we try to :-]

    Thank you all for the support !

    Reply
  • 7. Fariha Akhtar  |  February 4, 2009 at 9:47 am

    @Zeeshan

    It certainly is rather Semantic Web being a technology has a complete domain of its own, but hearing you talk about adding terms with all their possible meanings, to make PakTranslations learn them, reminded me of Ontologies and hence Semantic Web🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Fariha Akhtar  |  February 4, 2009 at 9:49 am

    ..and oh may be to fix the context issues in PakTransalations, you can also think along those lines.

    Reply
  • 9. Muhammad Mubashar Shoaib  |  February 4, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    @Fariha: Its interesting to find out that a CS theorist/enthusiast like yourself is a few clicks’n’keystrokes away from us. Different enthusiasts have explained the concept of “Semantic Web” according to their own individual interpretations (and perhaps aspirations too). You seem to come from the school of thought which defines it through the amount of meta information in the content.

    Hmmm… ontologies, well too complicated a concept for a simple guy like me. Even a few at FAST tried to explain it to me and failed miserably😛

    Also judging from Zeeshan’s face while reading your comment, I am sure he has no clue and now has gone into hiding.

    However, I will put my definition of “Semantic Web” on Mobipedia.org😀

    Reply
  • 10. ZeeShan Ahmed  |  February 4, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    Mobi – that was my ‘deep thought’ face!

    Fariha – Being a CS theorist/enthusiast myself, I happen to know a few things about ontologies. Here is my primary source of information:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ontology

    Reply
  • 11. Muhammad Shemyal Nisar  |  March 31, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    It is a really innovative and interesting Idea that should be pursued. But unfortunately, It didn’t show my blog even after hours of waiting although many other web pages that I tried did show up in translation.

    Secondly, I would like to register my disgust to the idea of transliteration which I thing Jahan Ara tried to paint as if something really fashionable and good. I think as a Pakistani I think everybody should be able to read the URDU script and this latinisation of Urdu should be discouraged at all levels. If you look at the Pakistan Movement it started because of language. If we are ok with the latinization then what was our problem with Sanskrit? Therefore, Urdu should be preserved the way it is and transliteration should not be pursued.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


