When Google goes down, the world panics

February 24, 2009 at 11:41 pm 10 comments

When I couldn’t get through to my GMail account or access my Google docs or view my Google calendar, I realized one thing. Perhaps I rely too much on the efficiency of one organization or service. Maybe I shouldn’t put all my eggs in one basket.

The time is right for me to back up all my essential mail on an online server elsewhere instead of my complete reliance on Google. Am I over-reacting? Perhaps. But can I afford to take the chance of this kind of problem recurring at some future date. What if my mail totally disappears. Would I not lose a lot of irreplaceable material? How would I reconstruct and recreate everything, I shudder to think?

No, a Plan B, a BCP, a Disaster Recovery Plan should certainly always be in place. The number of people who messaged me yesterday from different countries to ask if I could access GMail shows me that a large number of us have placed all our faith in Google. But they are human after all … and there is a chance this will happen again. Back up now … or regret it later. The choice is yours.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

ITLOW speaks with Farzana Sheikh about her Canadian experience TDAP sees potential in export of services

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. When Google goes down, the world panics / LiveFromPakistan  |  February 25, 2009 at 12:10 am

    When Google goes down, the world panics…

    When I couldn’t get through to my GMail account or acce …

    Reply
  • 2. mariaumar  |  February 25, 2009 at 12:13 am

    Oh, so I wasn’t the only one having trouble with Gmail today. Mean as it may sound but I am GLAD to hear that.😀

    Try GetDropbox.com. Someone recommended it just recently to me and is a wonderful tool for keeping all your data safe somewhere up in cyber space.🙂

    Reply
  • 3. When Google goes down, the world panics | Tea Break  |  February 25, 2009 at 12:22 am

    […] This cup of tea was served by: In the Line of Wire […]

    Reply
  • 4. Admin  |  February 25, 2009 at 2:29 am

    using gmai;’s POP feature and a program such as thunderbird, you can POP your mail down once a month to store as a on computer repository.i would do that in case this happens again and you need to get to some old/important data.
    while gmail has offline access, keeping your mail backups separate from the gmail system would be more secure.

    Reply
  • 5. Munir  |  February 25, 2009 at 5:09 am

    I think you’re very right. I had similar thoughts sometime ago when Gmail of a friend got hacked and laptop of another friend snatched.

    Taking backup regularly of all important data in form of CD/DVDs is the solution. Additionally, I think we can set auto-forward rule to all our Gmails to a different email server.

    Reply
  • 6. X---  |  February 25, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    I dont get it!
    been hearing about this google downtime but i didnt see any downtime at my end for all of the last 2 days!
    weird!

    Reply
  • 7. Jehan  |  February 25, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    @Mohtashim @Munir thanks for your advice.

    @Inspirex i guess you were either not online during those 2 or 3 hours or else it may be because you are Badar’s buddy😉

    Reply
  • 8. Nauman Faridi  |  February 26, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Google has recently released Offline Lab. Enabling this lab downloads a considerable size of your email data on your machine (around 2 years worth) and allows you to work offline. I am using it on my machine that is mostly on dialup and have found it very helpful.

    Reply
  • 9. Nauman Faridi  |  February 26, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    Forgot to mention that Offline Lab is computer specific. So you can only turn it on on your laptop and still use normal-mode on all other computers.

    Reply
  • 10. farhan  |  February 28, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    I agree with you. As long as your data is online, it is definitely not safe. Maybe we should make a habit of at least keeping a record of all our important attachments and e-mails and label them in Gmail so that they can be either forwarded to another e-mail address or downloaded. Labelling important e-mails which you certainly cannot afford to lose can really help in the future when you want to backup your e-mails on your harddrive or on another e-mail address and can’t decide which ones you want to save.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


