What if someone steals my idea?

February 28, 2009 at 6:28 am 6 comments

Yes Carlos Cashman is back! Well, not really! This video is from the same session at LUMS. I left out a few. Was having trouble with them.

This is a question that worries a lot of young entrepreneurs (and some older ones too)! If I go to a VC or an investor and share my idea with them, or if I have a focus group session or talk to someone about my idea, won’t it be stolen?  Someone with more resources will just take my idea and implement it and will implement it. And then woe is me! Where will I be?

I know it is a real fear and it is not as if things like that have not happened. But as Carlos pointed out, no-one can execute on the idea quite like you can. And it is the passion and drive of the entrepreneur, his/her ability to run with it and nurture it and turn it into something brilliant.

And as a young entrepreneur in Karachi once told me, “I am not short on ideas. Let them take it. There are many more where that came from!”🙂

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

I love the concept of Shadowing days Do I need experience to become an entrepreneur?

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. What if someone steals my idea? | Tea Break  |  February 28, 2009 at 6:29 am

    […] This cup of tea was served by: In the Line of Wire […]

    Reply
  • 2. What if someone steals my idea? / LiveFromPakistan  |  February 28, 2009 at 8:10 am

    What if someone steals my idea?…

    Yes Carlos Cashman is back! Well, not really! Th …

    Reply
  • 3. Syed Talha Izhar  |  February 28, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    I think the stealing an idea isn’t going to hurt… Its the vision that has the originality and zeal to execute it that makes any idea a special one…

    Reply
  • […] […]

    Reply
  • 5. Shahjahan  |  March 1, 2009 at 4:29 am

    Seth Godin says ‘ideas that spread fastest, win’. If you’re not going to share your idea, how will it spread?

    Ideas are everything. But they are nothing without appropriate execution. Go ahead…share your idea! Execute it! Make it work.

    Become a winning idea-merchant!

    Reply
  • 6. Asim  |  March 1, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    I believe that in this day and age, ideas are a dime a dozen. Every person these days has a bunch load of ideas so much so that “stealing” an idea has lost its charm🙂 Its definitely the execution that matters like Shahjahan pointed out. Not everybody can execute it well even the original thinkers sometimes are beaten because of a loophole in their execution plan. Classic example: Yahoo! the Internet Search-engine pioneer vs Google; IBM the PC-pioneer vs. (say) Dell. Orkut vs Facebook.

    Every thinker thinks that his/her idea is *THE BEST* and somebody would steal it. If its genuinely best and you have no doubt about it being debatable then keeping it to yourself is perhaps a nice thing to do but only when you are 120% sure about it. That is very rare though and for ‘mediocre’ ideas discussing it (without giving specifics) more or less helps in “fine tuning” it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


