You continue to live in our hearts … and always will!

April 1, 2009 at 7:54 am 12 comments

Today marks yet another year since dearest Ammi went away leaving a gaping hole in all our lives.

ammi at nasar's weddingPeople always tell you that the pain gets better over time – but does it really? Perhaps it is not so much the pain but the sense of loss that never goes away. If anything, I miss her more each day – as does my father, whose life has not been the same since that heartbreaking moment 6 years ago when the doctor told us that she had died in her sleep. That moment of total disbelief is carved in our memories.

My mother was such a beautiful person. Her lovely gentle smile lit up our lives and soothed our souls. Her faith in us made us believe that we could do anything we wanted to. Her sweet nature and her overall goodness made the world a special place for all those who knew her. There was a magical aura about her that appeared to protect us from everything that was evil. It was as if she made us invincible. Nothing could ammi-abbaji7hurt us as long as Ammi was around.

She was our friend and our confidante. She laughed with us with uncontrollable glee and dried the tears when we were sad or hurt. She magically took away the pain and stored it away within a special corner of her heart so that it would never touch us again.

ammi-with-samar-bhai-saheb

When we were kids and came running home from school, she was always there to listen to the zillion and one stories that we had to tell. As we grew up and started working, she was there to welcome us at the end of each day. I remember that the first thing I did as I walked into the house was to go say hello to ammi, to hang out with her, to tell her how my day had gone, who had done what to whom, what had gone right, what had gone wrong. She was the bearer of all our secrets. There was no-one we trusted more.

ammi_in_hospitalThere are very few people who are content with life, who never complain no matter what life dishes out to them. Ammi was such a person. I never heard her complain or ask for anything. She was happy with whatever she had, no matter how little that was at certain stages of her life. Even when she had to be in hospital for long periods, she was worried about the stress it put on us, rather than what she was going through.

I don’t think Abbaji ever felt pressured to earn more, to do more. She was always grateful that life had given her such a wonderful and caring husband and loving children. She was the perfect wife, the perfect mother.

Ammi was always the glue that held us all together, and even now it is her memory that keeps us so close as a family.

ammi_family-photo

ammi-with-me It is as if she is still watching over us from her heavenly abode.

Thank you Ammi for the sacrifices that you made for me. Thank you for all that you have given me and all that you’ve done for me.

I know there were times that, had it not been for your unselfishness, my life would have been so very different, not as balanced, and certainly not as happy.

Thank you for giving me life. Thank you for your example. Thank you for the joy that you brought into our lives. Thank you for the love that we always felt, that we never took for granted. Thank you for being so very special. We loved you so much dearest, precious Ammi. Nothing can take your love away from us. You will be in our hearts always.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

VoteEarth 2009 – http://www.earthhour.org Does everything need to be inaugurated?

12 Comments Add your own

  • You continue to live in our hearts … and always will!…

    Reply
  • 2. Awais Naseer Keyani  |  April 1, 2009 at 10:41 am

    😥
    May Allah Bless her soul and May Allah keep the shadow of Moms of all on their heads for long long and long! Ameen!

    Reply
  • […] This cup of tea was served by: In the Line of Wire […]

    Reply
  • […] This cup of tea was served by: In the Line of Wire […]

    Reply
  • 5. rabia garib  |  April 1, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    Jehan Ara – You are a shining example of perhaps everything she was, and so much more. May Allah continue to bless her soul and continue to give you the courage and strength to live your life to the fullest and continue to keep her alive in your thoughts and in your heart. That is where she is the safest and perhaps the happiest.

    Reply
  • 6. mirpuri  |  April 1, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    I usually visit your blog to learn about IT in pakistan but this piece about your mother has really touched me. a beatifully writtem tribute to your mother.

    Reply
  • 7. Khurram Iqbal  |  April 1, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    May Allah Bless her soul. Ameen.

    Reply
  • 8. Fariha Akhtar  |  April 2, 2009 at 12:13 am

    May Allah(SWT) grant her place in Jannah. I was reading this post on my cell while coming back from office and it was touching enough to bring tears to my eyes..probably because I can totally relate to it. With every passing day, one tends to feel the loss of loved ones even more but a little effort done every now and then to mirror their good qualities can really have a soothing effect. Also, the thought that we got to spend some part of life with such lovely people is also very comforting!🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Jehan  |  April 2, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    @Rabia thanks for the kind words but honestly I am nowhere near the person she was. I wish i had the patience she did, the ability to see only the best in people. I wish I had the courage that she had and the ability to forgive as easily as she did. But you are right about one thing – she will always be alive in our hearts and in our thoughts.

    @Fariha I know my mother’s death anniversary coincides with your late father’s birthday. That is why you are in my thoughts on that day as I am in yours. Thanks for the lovely and sensitive email you sent me. May God bless you always. Yes we must try and follow their example and I do feel lucky that I was able to spend so much precious time with my mother.

    Reply
  • 10. liferockzzzz2008  |  April 2, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    MAY ALLAH BLESS HER SOUL
    this is a very touching tribute. i also visit ur blog for technology and computer news but it is a beautiful tribute from a daughter to a mother

    Reply
  • 11. Uni  |  April 5, 2009 at 1:11 am

    Salam🙂 I am new to your blog. And have read only a few posts. It’s a wonderful blog. And this post especially touched my heart.

    May your mum be a real happy person in Heaven right now and may Allah Give you and your family sabr-e-Jameel all the way

    Ameen

    Reply
  • 12. Laeeq-uz Zaman  |  January 2, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    Hi. I am a medical doctor into IT, and in your linkedin network. Today I thought of checking out your blog I had trivially skimmed through once before. To be honest, I was searching for things of my interest only, and walked into interviews arena with Shahida (sehat first) and Fahad (iTack). Spendid people you get on board!
    BUT, lastly I bumped into somthing I had not bargined for, yet, somehting I woudl have just not known to have missed. The tribute you have written in memory of your late mother (May Allah Taala Bless her with the Best of the world hereafter)… Very touching. I wish we all are blessed with such people around us, especially a mother.
    Never knew this other facet of your life, like you rightly pointed out in ‘who am i really’.
    I also wish and pray for all the more success to you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


