Happy Mother’s Day Ammi!

May 10, 2009 at 11:48 am 9 comments

Ammi As the world celebrates Mother’s Day, I can’t buy you flowers or chocolates or make a special meal for you. I can’t fuss over you the way I used to on special days. I can’t hug you and laugh with you or watch a movie with you.

What can I do to honour you other than spread roses on your grave? I can continue to live the kind of life and that you wanted for all your children. I can live the values that you held dear and instill them in the young people I meet so that they are able to enrich their lives. I can practice the humanity that was so much a part of you. I can bring some relief to those who are less fortunate and need my help. I can remember your smile and let it calm my being.

I miss you my darling Ammi. However, you continue to live within each one of us. We cherish the memory of having had a mother who was totally selfless and always wanted the best for everyone that she came into contact with. Happy Mother’s Day Ammi. We will always love you and you will continue to impact our lives for as long as we live.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Is this the answer for developing economies? Ashraf Kapadia in conversation with me on ITLoW

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Happy Mother’s Day Ammi! | Tea Break  |  May 10, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    […] This cup of tea was served by: In the Line of Wire […]

    Reply
  • 2. Happy Mother’s Day Ammi! / LiveFromPakistan  |  May 10, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    Happy Mother’s Day Ammi!…

    Reply
  • 3. Fariha Akhtar  |  May 10, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    “..I can live the values that you held dear …”.. this is the best gift that she or any parent can get and she’ll be feeling too proud of you up there. 🙂

    May Allah(SWT) bless her soul.

    Reply
  • 4. aMmAr  |  May 10, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    Mother is the best gift we get from God. I didnt had the privilege to meet your late mother but the golden attributes and kindness I see in you assures me that she must be a great lady. Great post!

    Reply
  • 5. Awais Naseer Keyani  |  May 10, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    Ahhh!! No comment but a sigh of grief!! May Allah bless her soul!

    Reply
  • 6. Enk.  |  May 10, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    May Her Soul Rest in Peace (Ameen) and ALLAH bless you too !🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Jehan  |  May 10, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    Thanks everyone for your kind and sweet sentiments. I am not really sad. I celebrate her life each time I do something good and I will continue to do that as long as I live.

    However, I do miss her a lot. She was my mother and my friend. She was like my sounding board – I told her everything, and I knew she didn’t judge me even when I said something that she did not approve of.

    It was so easy to make her happy. She appreciated the smallest gesture, the tiniest of gifts. I loved giving her things and seeing the genuine pleasure she derived from whatever I gave her. I miss all that.

    Reply
  • 8. Farhan  |  May 12, 2009 at 11:20 am

    yes J u r right, i think this is the best gift that we can give to our mother to do some good.
    My mother was passed away last month and i miss her so much every day, i have celebrate this day with my mother every year and i gave her flowers. But now she is no more with me.

    Reply
  • 9. birthdaysms  |  May 22, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    GOD can not everywhere so there he create mother’s

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


