Unusual meeting spot

June 9, 2009 at 9:44 pm 18 comments

Nothing stops us IT types when we want to hold a meeting.  Something that happened last week reminded me of the truth of this statement. Saqib Mansoor, Senior Manager of HR at TPS, had made an appointment to meet up with me at my office at 9:30 a.m. He wanted to discuss some capacity building issues that the industry faces and to make effective suggestions to counter them. He was also bringing over a cheque for the P@SHA Swat Relief Fund from the TPS team. So of course I said yes.

I was running late that morning but I got there 15 minutes before he was supposed to arrive, only to find that there was no electricity. The generators in our building run the lights, fans, airconditioners and all the computer equipment but NOT the elevator. At any other time I would have walked up the 5 flights of stairs grumbling and panting all the way (I am totally out of shape). But I have hurt my knee and my orthopaedist has warned me to avoid going up and down the stairs for the next few weeks if I want the knee to heal. So I phoned Saqib. He was unperturbed – said it was okay and that if I didn’t mind, we could just meet in his car or mine. We would have the airconditioning on and it should be no hassle. I said okay I was game. Then I went and settled down in my car, listened to music on FM, while I waited for him.

It was good to see that the young man arrived on time. Having been brought up in Hong Kong, I have always been a stickler for punctuality. He joined  me in the car and we started our conversation. Twenty five minutes later Maria, who is the Marketing Manager at P@SHA, messaged me on my mobile to let me know that the elevator was working again so Saqib and I moved upstairs for the rest of our discussions.

It was an interesting discussion and we are going to follow it up with some decisive action mid-week. But what has stuck in my mind is the unusual meeting venue and our unwillingness to give up on the meeting despite the hurdles. Thank you Saqib.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

The Readers Club – serving a real need? OPEN Forum 2009: a must-attend event!

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Unusual meeting spot / LiveFromPakistan  |  June 9, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    Unusual meeting spot…

    Nothing stops us IT types when we want to hold a meeting.  S …

    Reply
  • 2. Unusual meeting spot | Tea Break  |  June 10, 2009 at 12:38 am

    […] This cup of tea was served by: In the Line of Wire […]

    Reply
  • 3. Salman  |  June 10, 2009 at 7:05 am

    bohat aala, you are one resilient woman! really inspirational

    Reply
  • 4. Fariha Akhtar  |  June 10, 2009 at 8:43 am

    Ha ha…Saqib bhai told me about this meeting and this made me think that perhaps we can now arrange Munir’s educational sessions in the car as well while moving around the city, discussing different societal observations we make while being on the road😀

    Reply
  • 5. Jehan  |  June 10, 2009 at 8:58 am

    @Fariha we would need a coach since our group has been growing each time we meet

    Reply
  • 6. Ammar Yasir  |  June 10, 2009 at 9:15 am

    @Fariha and Jehan

    And if anyone fails to comply with our ideas n education; we can always kick ’em out of the car😀

    Reply
  • 7. Jehan  |  June 10, 2009 at 9:18 am

    @Ammar what happened to freedom of speech and freedom of thought?

    Reply
  • 8. Sarah  |  June 10, 2009 at 9:20 am

    I think we’ll see a new kind of people out there, who are simply more resilient to the unending bumps that the Pakistani work environment keeps sending our way. Your ‘note’ was a perfect example!

    Reply
  • 9. Jehan  |  June 10, 2009 at 9:28 am

    @Sarah we are a very resilient country and somehow we have learnt to cope with all sorts of situations whenever we encounter them – no matter how big or small they may be. But I hope that will never stop us from trying to make things better,

    Reply
  • 10. TPSian  |  June 10, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    yeh tu kuch bhi nahiiiiiiiiii!!!!!

    Reply
  • 11. Zahid Haseeb  |  June 10, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    Thats nice. and showing the Steadfastness towards professionalism
    i think its not must to have a meeting in the meeting room etc

    Reply
  • 12. Saqib Mansoor  |  June 10, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    Dear Jehan Ara, thank to you for giving the time. It is encouraging for me and also for all the people who believes “When there is a will there is way”.

    Reply
  • 13. Fariha Akhtar  |  June 10, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    @TPSian and @TPSian2 Even though we believe in freedom of speech and freedom of expression but still it always helps to see and focus on the good that is there in every person u come across.

    Reply
  • 14. Faizuddin  |  June 11, 2009 at 9:02 am

    I remember that preamble to this meeting was a stand-up-by-car meeting after TechElite closing ceremony (@Jehan: does that remind of a commitment🙂 ) where me and saqib were overwhelmed by listening to Jehan’s heavy schedule and extensive travelling…..

    ………two things that Jehan can almost instantly inspire in anyone is high-spiritedness and consistency….

    Reply
  • 15. Ammar Yasir  |  June 11, 2009 at 9:16 am

    @ Maame Jehan

    You are right freedom of speech should never be compromised no matter what. But an evaluation report should also be maintained to look into the results after every educational session.

    What do you think Fariha??😉

    Reply
  • 16. Jehan  |  June 11, 2009 at 9:17 am

    @Fariha I used to keep my blog totally unmoderated but a couple of messages targeting specific individuals and using very crude language forced me to incorporate moderation. I think that since it is my space, I have that right. I have deleted one of TSPians comments – with freedom of speech comes great responsibility as well. I agree that focusing on the good is always better than trying to highlight the negative.

    @Faiz yes I remember the meeting by the car. Did I make a commitment? Oh I think I remember what it was. Will implement it now.🙂

    Reply
  • 17. Faizuddin  |  June 11, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    Using fake names or identities to earn bad name for anyone else is a henious thing to do…. I am confident that whoever TPSian/TPSian2 are, they do not belong to TPS…

    TPS is like a family where harmony, peace and respect for others prevail, besides the true professionalism TPS working environment has instilled in all of us…

    Reply
  • 18. Farzal  |  June 22, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    Jehan, this post should come with a warning similar to those that come with ATM education

    1. Park in a well lighted area
    2. Look around. If you see suspicious activity, leave
    3. Don’t try this in Defence Phase 8
    😉😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


