Badar Khushnood continues his conversation with me on ITLoW

August 28, 2009 at 2:14 pm 4 comments

5689_239730040079_734975079_8032304_4698220_nIn Monday’s episode of ITLoW, Badar Khushnood, Pakistan Country Consultant for Google, told us about his growing up years (or was it his early working life?) and how his career progressed and he came to be where he is today.

In Part 2 of my interview with Badar on ITLoW, he talks about the growth of the Internet in Pakistan, the reasons he believes there has been so much interest from the user community. He also talks about what people are using the Internet for and where there are still some stumbling blocks and things to be a little weary of.

The problem with not having a set of pre-planned questions and letting the conversation flow is that sometimes your guest turns the tables on you and starts interviewing you instead. And this is what sort of happened in this episode. Badar surprised me by asking what I thought had happened over the past 3 years in terms of Internet usage and particularly in people using Google apps and the Google Search engine. I don’t like these kind of surprises I must admit. However, as usual, I said what I thought. And what was that? Well, if I tell you everything here, what reason will you have to go and watch Part 2 of this episode of ITLoW?🙂

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Reboot! prize enhanced! Yippee! Ammar Yasir makes his first presentation at a conference

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Badar Khushnood  |  August 28, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    Jehan Ara & Rabia, once again many many thanks for bearing me for so long. I’m not an experienced interview candidate so apologies!

    I sound like a bragging crackpot politician… truly need to improve my communication skills in this ‘live talk’ space…

    Reply
  • 2. Nadeem Ahsan  |  August 29, 2009 at 2:04 am

    Babar,

    Atleast your were honest enough to acknowledge such issues. You must be commended for that very reason.

    Word of advice for CIO Web Studio – Please vet the candidate and make sure they have some experience in being interviewed. I am sure a lot of international viewers like me log into web studio. It so happens that I am a Pakistani, so I don’t mind someone switching back and forth between Urdu and English. IDG being an international company, we need to be cognizant of the fact that we present a truly professional image to viewers.

    Reply
  • 3. Badar Khushnood  |  August 31, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    Nadeem, just to clarify, I wasn’t referring to my Minglish (Urdu+English mix) when talking about improving communication skills rather I was referring to how long I talked about my own personal past…

    Reply
  • 4. Nadeem Ahsan  |  August 31, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    Badar,

    Well, my friend it is up to you whether to improve your ‘Minglish’ skills as well.

    This has been my major pet peeve with the interviews on CIO Web Studio. It has become a staging ground for individuals to blow their horns and beat the drums of their glorious personal past story. I don’t know what these interviews mean anymore other than mostly ‘happy talk’ , sometimes ‘small talk’, chatter and banter. Some of these discussions border on being just too childish.

    Their is no serious effort being made to bring some modicum of professionalism into these conversations. Every individual on the show needs to realize that they are there because they work in the IT industry and represent a company. They are not there because they are A, B, C. The viewer does not care much if you were offered 3 jobs in NYC. What we care about is whether new thoughts and ideas get distilled and shared with all of us.

    Other than some really good interviews, I am sorry to say that I don’t see much value being added to the state of IT in Pakistan.

    I would love to see much more accomplished ‘Super Stars’ on the show.

    Nadeem

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


