What are the chances?

December 18, 2009 at 5:34 pm 1 comment

If you were introduced to a young man for the first time a few months ago in Karachi, what are the chances that you would run into him on a bridge in the city of Melbourne Australia a few months later? Well, it happens. I know because it has recently happened to me.

Abdul Basit Khan’s uncle Mr. Abdul Haye introduced me to him a few months ago when he visited Karachi. We had a nice chat and we met one more time before he left Karachi and returned to Australia. A couple of days ago as I was standing on a bridge in the middle of Melbourne in the evening waiting for a decision to be made by members of our delegation, regarding the venue for a dinner, a young man approached me and asked “Jehan Ara?”. I said “Guilty as charged” at which point he said “I don’t know if you remember me but we met recently in Karachi …” Fortunately, despite my memory, I remembered him. I learned from him that he was living and working in Melbourne. I guess he must have told me about this when we first met but it had skipped my mind.

So Basit went with us to the Greek restaurant that these boys had chosen to dine at. I introduced him to everyone and we all chatted away like old friends.

Such coincidences are so strange and leave you thinking that it is indeed a small world and if we keep walking we will run into each other sometime, somewhere.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Cricket Revolution gets recognition at APICTA Life is too short

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Talha Izhar  |  December 18, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    Yup. I remember meeting Basit in Karachi.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


