Who am I really?

December 20, 2009 at 6:31 am 3 comments

As I said at IGF last month, most of us usually wear multiple hats. I may be the President of P@SHA but I am also part of civil society, I am also a woman, I am a blogger, I am a citizen of a country and an inhabitant of the world. Each of these parts of me reacts differently to different situations. I should therefore not be coloured with any particular brush because I am a multitude of interesting colours like any other person.

For example, when I view the issue of privacy I look at it as a woman, as a civil rights activist, as a business person and as an individual who is involved with an industry that needs to address the issue of privacy in the tools and applications that we create. I also look at the whole issue of privacy from an advocacy perspective because I believe many people do not even think about the privacy angle until they become a target of privacy invasion or a victim of online harrassment or cyberstalking. Governments too need to be monitored so they do not come up with policies under the guise of security that infringe on our privacy. So I look at privacy from varying perspectives.

Anyway, the point I wanted to make is: Don’t look at me through a single lens because you will only see one side of me, and you will miss out the many other facets of who I am.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Life is too short My reading list for the next few weeks

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Who am I really? | Tea Break  |  December 20, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    […] This cup of tea was served by: In the Line of Wire […]

    Reply
  • 2. Adil Muhammad  |  December 21, 2009 at 1:36 am

    Well thats the problem with us, we have many things, known and unknowns and mostly we see through single lens because we dont know how many known and unknown lenses we have!

    Reply
  • 3. M Bilal  |  December 22, 2009 at 4:05 am

    I have been following your blog and know P@SHA as being a part of IT Industry of Pakistan. I agree with you for the point of having multiple colors of our personality. Most importantly we are human before we are a professional. Our religion, culture, society, and system does make a lot of difference on the way we look at life and others. I want to thank you for sharing your thoughts and promoting Pakis through all the mediums and forums. Pakistan Zindabad!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


