Hong Kong always re-energizes me

January 4, 2010 at 5:24 pm 1 comment

Although this time I could only stop over in Hong Kong for a day and a half, the city still managed to do for me what it always does – bring back the memories of bygone days – of precious hours spent with my mom, of work that I enjoyed, of time spent with family while I was growing up, of friends and colleagues who are now far away, and of the many things that I have learnt from the Chinese people. I am not referring to the Cantonese that I picked up while I was living there, but to things I have been able to apply throughout my life – energy, diligence, respect for hard work, attention to detail, value of time and the ability to enjoy life to the fullest.

As I walked around Hong Kong I felt a renewed energy, a renewed sense of urgency to get things done. I could feel the energy all around me – people walking at a pace that you rarely see anywhere else. And the sea of humanity that I saw as I emerged from the Mass Transit Railway (MTR) in downtown Causeway Bay, was unique even for Hong Kong. I tried to take a picture to capture that moment in time.

It is a wonder people don’t get trampled in crowds such as this.

I somehow managed to squeeze my way out into a less crowded place and found myself standing in front of Christmas carolers. I thought to myself that the tune of the carol sounded familiar but the words didn’t. And it was then that I realized that it was “Silent Night” being sung in Mandarin!🙂

It attracted some families and young couples who stood holding hands and moving to the tune of the music. Quite serene. Brought a smile to my face as I stood there taking it all in.

I strolled along and window shopped with nothing specific in mind that I wanted to buy, and whiled away the time until I met my brother for dinner. That was another experience and a half. I had fussed and told told him I was not interested in going for a buffet. I would rather go to one of the small restaurants in the city that were favourites of mine. But he insisted and so I agreed.

It turned out to be a good decision in the end because in the buffet were some of my favourite things – sushi, crab, fishball and tofu soup, steamed fish in soya, etc. And amongst the deserts they had chocolate fondue, bread and butter pudding, fresh crepes with whatever filling you wanted, waffles with ice cream and loads of other stuff. I am sure I am adding on a few pounds as I remember the spread.🙂 It was a nice evening. I was tired after a long and activity filled day but I was happy that I had managed to do so much in such a short period of time. I so love Hong Kong – my home away from home.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: , , , , .

Google Mapping Party at FAST-NUCES Lahore today Wearing several hats can sometimes be tricky

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


