Wearing several hats can sometimes be tricky

January 5, 2010 at 11:26 am 1 comment

At the best of times I find myself wearing several hats, and to some extent, I think I enjoy doing it. However, this time at the Asia Pacific ICT Awards and ASOCIO General Assembly & ICT Summit in Melbourne, I considered whether I was perhaps wearing too many hats simultaneously.

I was juggling the following responsibilities:

1. Economy Coordinator for Pakistan for APICTA
2. EXCO member for Pakistan for APICTA
3. EXCO member for Pakistan for ASOCIO
4. Executive Director for Pakistan for ASOCIO
5. Roving reporter for iP@SHA, CIO Pakistan Webstudio and for my own blog

What did all this mean? Well, there was the ASOCIO General Assembly and ICT Summit to attend and participate in, the ASOCIO ED’s meeting to share our annual programs and statistics with, the APICTA Economy Coordinator’s meeting and the APICTA Exco meeting. In addition, I had to be available to the delegates from Pakistan and to both the ASOCIO and APICTA secretariats in case there were any queries that came up. The judges from Pakistan had their hands full with the judging schedule and the mentoring.

When Sultan Hamdani asked me why I wasn’t accompanying the rest of the team for a day’s outing to take in the blue-green ocean and the beautiful Australian countryside, for a few seconds I wondered if it was a serious question. I have a suspicion that he was teasing me because he knew well that I had several meetings to attend. But it got me thinking. Each time I make an official business trip, I end up working twice as hard as I do when I am home. And of course there is always the game of catch-up that one has to play when one returns home. There is definitely something wrong with this picture, don’t you think? And yet i thrive on it. Must be the great food and the company of friends from ASOCIO and APICTA whom we have come to know and cherish over the last 6-7 years. Each time we meet it is like a reunion. There is so much to learn from each other, so much to share. The effort is all worth it in the end. Happy New Year guys and gals. And good luck with all our regional initiatives in 2010.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Hong Kong always re-energizes me Happy Birthday Dearest Abbaji

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


