A day I can’t ignore or forget

April 2, 2010 at 12:11 am 5 comments

I remember a time long long ago, when I was just a little girl,  April 1 was the day we would pull harmless pranks on friends and family. We didn’t know the significance. All we knew was that it gave us an excuse to think up clever tricks to pull on unsuspecting people. Admittedly, as years passed, April Fools’ Day began to lose its appeal and I more or less let the day pass without giving it much thought.

All that changed on April 1, 2003. Something earthshattering happened that changed my world forever. My mother, my wonderful sweet mother whose smile lit up every room she walked into, whose very presence brought a serenity into our lives, into our very existence, left us on April 1 seven years ago.

When I think about how long it has been, it’s hard to believe that 7 years have gone past. It seems like only yesterday that I came home from work to Ammi’s warm and loving smile. It was a norm. I would walk in, peep into her room to see if she was awake. She would be waiting. I would sit down with her and bring her uptodate on the day’s activities – whom I had met, what they’d said or done. She was the repository of all my joys and frustrations, of both the good and bad things that happened to me. She knew all about my friends, my business colleagues, people I met through the course of my day.

She would listen to me chatter on and on smiling indulgently at all the funny bits. She was so proud of every little thing I achieved and she shrugged off every failure as if it didn’t really make a difference to who I was. Ammi made everything seem okay. She was our number one champion. She could see the best in us – and it was her confidence in our abilities that made us strive to put in that extra effort.

We are better human beings because Ammi expected that from us. She could never understand cruelty and meanness of spirit. War, struggle, poverty and illness all worried her and she would always try and figure out how we as individuals could make a small difference to the community in which we lived.

This morning as I placed the orchids that I had brought back from Thailand for her on her grave, I remembered the many times Ammi had smiled at the sight of those lovely flowers. We love you Ammi. We miss you. No day passes that we don’t think of you. You were the best mother in the world and we will always try and live up to your expectations of us.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

APICTA Chairman caught spying on Exco members Here’s to you Badar Khushnood & Naveed Bajwa!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. A day I can’t forget | Tea Break  |  April 2, 2010 at 12:21 am

    […] This cup of tea was served by: In the Line of Wire […]

    Reply
  • 2. Uni  |  April 2, 2010 at 2:13 am

    This was a very touching post. May God Bless your mom and hope she is resting peacefully. Hope you achieve your dreams of becoming what your mum wanted you to be.
    🙂 Seems like you’re already pretty much there.

    Reply
  • 3. A day I can’t ignore or forget | Tea Break  |  April 2, 2010 at 6:21 am

    […] This cup of tea was served by: In the Line of Wire […]

    Reply
  • 4. Hina  |  April 2, 2010 at 9:16 am

    That’s a beautiful dedication. She’s in our thoughts too now & I’m sure she was lucky to have you as much as you were lucky to have her as your mother. She has our respect, prayers & all our admiration.

    Reply
  • 5. Fariha Akhtar  |  April 2, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    Your Ammi was in my prayers yesterday and I actually checked your blog twice to see if you have made any post about her. I was just thinking how time is considered to be a great healer yet it doesn’t fill the void that is created when any of your parents is no longer there. In fact, it seems to grow with time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


