Watching Alice in Wonderland in 3D

April 6, 2010 at 10:54 am 1 comment

Since I was in Thailand, and Tim Burton’s “Alice in Wonderland” was on in the cinemas, there was no way that I was going to miss watching it in 3D. I have been a Lewis Carroll fan ever since I can remember.

I wasn’t expecting much and it was just as well. This new Alice in Wonderland shows 19 year old Alice returning to the whimsical world she had known as a child where she meets the White Rabbit, the Cheshire Cat, the Mad Hatter, the Dormouse, Tweedledee and Tweedledum, the Red Queen, the White Queen and many other characters. Her destiny appears to be to end the Red Queen’s reign of terror by slaughtering the jabberwocky.

It was strange seeing Alice as a young woman trying to wiggle out of a possible marriage instead of the little girl I remembered from way back when. I guess she did a decent enough job considering that there really wasn’t much of a storyline except for Alice going back in time, falling through the rabbit hole and saving “Wonderland” or “Underland”.

However, I had gone to see the film to revel in old memories of the fantasyland of my childhood. In that the movie sufficed. The visuals were strong, colourful and vibrant. My favourite character, as always, was the Cheshire Cat (voice of Stephen Fry). It was done beautifully and each time Chesh popped up I could feel my smile broadening to match his – his smile has always been so infectious.

A couple of things confused me though. The White Queen who is supposedly the “good” person in this story appeared to be rather sinister in my view. I found the Red Queen to be more real. I felt sorry for her because it appeared as if she was nasty because of the way she looked and because no-one loved her. The second thing that confused me was when Alice was talking business with her father’s friend regarding opening up the trade routes to China. The map she was looking at appeared to be very clearly defined – more a 21st century map rather than one that was relevant for that time period. They might as well have used Google Maps if they weren’t concerned about that sort of thing!🙂

Anyway, although I felt that the 3D part was not really capitalized on as much as it could have been and there was no real storyline, it was fun just watching it and seeing some of my favourite characters.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: , , , , , , .

APICTA week in KL in October – you can’t afford to miss it! If you have to put up a hoarding …

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


