Visiting some Buddhas in Pattaya

April 6, 2010 at 7:53 pm 2 comments

The Wat Khao Phra Bat temple on a hill overlooking Pattaya Bay features a Buddha statue more than 18 meters tall – as you can see he is much much taller than me🙂. Pattaya Viewpoint (Buddha Hill) is a well-known landmark in South Pattaya, providing a complete view of Jomtien and Pattaya. It is dominated by a massive big Buddha statue painted in gold, some 300 feet above Pattaya’s coastline.

Forty years ago Pattaya was just a small village with a few huts scattered along the beach. With financial assistance from some wealthy business people and contributions from the community, the monks of Pattaya built the Big Buddha by hand. It was originally white but was later painted in gold.

Surrounding the Big Buddha are ten or more smaller Buddhas each with their own role in life and seven of them represent the days of the week each of which is a guardian for those born on a particular day of the week. And then of course there was this buddha that became so tired that he decided to get some rest🙂.

What I liked most about the place were the steps leading up to the place. When I first saw the 90 – 100 or so steps leading up to the statue, I nearly turned back because I thought that my knees just couldn’t take that climb. But when I went closer I saw that the steps were very intelligently constructed. I could easily climb them without a problem. They were made just for me🙂. If everyone would be considerate enough to make steps like these, I would face no issues at all.

My favourite buddha of all has always been the laughing/smiling buddha. There is such serenity in the smile, such joy. My kid brother Samar and Ammi also love this buddha so I just couldn’t resist having a photo taken with the smiling buddha.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: , , , , .

If you have to put up a hoarding … Now I have seen everything!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Munir  |  April 6, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    Wow it seems you had a great time!

    Btw you know why is he smiling?

    Because a great person came to meet him🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Visiting some Buddhas in Pattaya | Tea Break  |  April 7, 2010 at 2:22 am

    […] This cup of tea was served by: In the Line of Wire […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


