The Apple iPad is sooooo cool!

April 18, 2010 at 8:06 am 16 comments

No I haven’t got my iPad yet. It is enroute and should be here in a few days but, knowing how I was dying to get my hands on one, young Taimur Asad was sweet enough to bring over his so that I could touch it, feel it, play with it. Thanks Taimur. Both of us just had to pose with the iPad “Steve Jobs style”.🙂

So what did I think of the iPad? All I can say is “WOW!” I fell totally in love with it. So many people had said so many negative things about the iPad but you just have to use it to see how absolutely amazing it is. It is thin, light, super fast and smooth (must be the A4 chip). Everything works at such terrific speed.

The Multi-touch technology works even better on the iPad than it did on the iPhone – switching between screens, manipulating photos, looking at them in different sizes and angles, arranging them any which way, it is all so easy – like magic.

Reading a book on the iPad is as close to actual reading as is possible. Turning the pages feels like the real thing, looks like the real thing. The resolution (as on all Apple hardware) is absolutely out of this world. You can increase the font size and reading in landscape mode makes it all the more easier on the eyes.

As for reading the New York Times on the iPad, it is an experience in itself. They have truly made perfect use of the medium – switching between sections, viewing videos within the paper, listening to audios, it is all absolutely brilliant.

As for the keyboard, it is huge – almost the size of the keys on my Macbook. Very easy and intuitive. I had no problem with it at all. Video streamed well. Wifi didn’t disconnect throughout the time I was using it. Browsing is a dream. The Calendar and the Contact apps are terrific. Skype, Facebook and Twitter all work well.

Adobe has incorporated a free iPad app called Ideas. You can now draw something by hand on the iPad with free-flowing creativity as a first draft and then refine it later in Illustrator or Photoshop on your laptop. Another app called iMockups lets you “sketch” Web designs. Just some examples of the kind of apps that are being created for the iPad. Of course Apple’s own Keynote and Pages are available for the iPad and there is a connector that one can buy that can connect the iPad to a VGA so that you can use it to present or to connect it to a television or a monitor for watching a movie.

I guess once I get my iPad, I will use it for most things other than very long documents and developing presentations (even that I am not too sure about because I found the keyboard so easy to use). And travel, especially domestically, I don’t think I will have to carry my laptop anymore. The iPad would enable me to do most things on short trips. Yes I know everyone thinks the iPad should have had are a USB port and a camera, and multitasking all of which the next version will probably have .

Thanks again Taimur. I loved using your iPad but now I want mine even more desperately!

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: , , , , .

P@SHA & TiE holding SI session in Karachi on April 14 at 6 pm We have been there and know what not to do!

16 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


