A new revenue generation idea … could it work?

May 1, 2010 at 11:18 pm 18 comments

Ever since I got my iPad, everyone wants to touch it, play with it, see how it works – there are the normal ooohs and aaaahs. They ask how much it cost. And almost everyone wants one – even the cynics.

Here is a photo of various people trying it – that is why I haven’t removed the screen protector yet – so that all fingerprints will touch the protector film rather than the screen. Nadeem Malik wanted one right away. Sultan Hamdani, the Microsoft evangelist, said he didn’t understand what the fuss was about so I let him use it for 5 minutes and soon he had his answer.🙂

Abdul Hameed Kath, Kaiser Waheed, Awab Alvi and Zia Khan of Operation Badr fame also checked out my iPad. I even tried to tempt Naveed Bajwa of Microsoft as you can see in the photograph above. There were others who also tried out it out and were totally blown away – Adil Moosajee, Faisal Kapadia, Zainab Kapadia, Afia Salam and several others – this only in the last 24 hours. As my iPad continued to change hands at T2F this evening, I had a revenue generation idea – what if I charged Rs. 100 each time someone wanted to just hold the iPad or see how it worked? Do you think people would pay? Just an idea. At least there’d be enough loose change for ice-cream for my blogger friends and me for a year.🙂

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: , , , , , , .

They actually hear what I say – and they respond! Don’t miss the Mobile Apps & Gaming session on May 9, 2010

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fariha Akhtar  |  May 1, 2010 at 11:26 pm

    As they say “challay ga nahi dooray ga”😀 I can be the choti who runs around to collect the fee and then ahem buy ice cream with it – yeah yeah for u too😛

    Reply
  • 2. Danial  |  May 1, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    I am more than willing to pay Rs. 100 to try this iPad thing🙂
    lol😛
    I guess its the best gadget to read news, rss feeds and blog🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Ayesha  |  May 1, 2010 at 11:32 pm

    hehe, ma`am just go ahead, but I guess 100 is very less, make it 500😛

    am not a gadget geek but I liked it🙂, awesome thing!

    nice to meet you after a long time!!

    Reply
  • 4. shobz  |  May 1, 2010 at 11:34 pm

    that is a great idea. it’s a pity i didnt get to check out your ipad. I wish I had know you were at the T2F earlier today.

    Reply
  • 5. wasimbhalli  |  May 1, 2010 at 11:56 pm

    Great Idea😛

    Reply
  • 6. Owaeis N.  |  May 2, 2010 at 12:04 am

    hehehehehehee… Is this post an invoice to all the names listed above? =P

    Reply
  • 7. Xeb  |  May 2, 2010 at 12:11 am

    I think it would totally work!😛

    (It’s just so much fun to play with, even an Apple(dis)liker would be fascinated. Plus the high resolution zoom-thing is super-cool. I’m thinking of getting one for my mom!)

    Reply
  • 8. Desi Back to Desh  |  May 2, 2010 at 12:13 am

    I think you would owe about 30% of that stream to the apple itune store..

    Reply
  • 9. Nawaz  |  May 2, 2010 at 12:31 am

    Evil evil plans coming up😛 good one🙂

    Reply
  • 10. Abdul Hameed Kath  |  May 2, 2010 at 12:39 am

    Hahaha !!!
    Great idea JA…!
    Do you remember I had even offered you double what you had demanded for to get a pic of it in my hand? So this surely will work and earn you some bucks for your ice-cream for a year or so😉
    By the way, I got hocked by that evil device and am going to get one soon!
    Well, thanks a lot for letting me touch it and feel😀

    Reply
  • 11. Abdul Hameed Kath  |  May 2, 2010 at 12:40 am

    And thanks for mentioning🙂

    Reply
  • 12. qasimalikhawaja  |  May 2, 2010 at 12:43 am

    Heheheheehe

    Mam I got a competitor against your new revenue generation idea @ http://ipadpeek.com/

    Regards

    Reply
  • […] This cup of tea was served by: In the Line of Wire […]

    Reply
  • 14. Tarique Aftab  |  May 2, 2010 at 9:29 am

    Once an idea comes and appreciated implement it soonest possible, otherwise it will fly.

    Reply
  • 15. Jehan  |  May 2, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    @Fariha I knew the mention of ice-cream wouldn’t keep you away for long.

    @Danial come over and check it out anytime – no charge!🙂

    @Ayesha Rs. 500 seems a bit high, don’t you think? It was good to see you too. Take care and keep up your amazing efforts.

    @Shobz I didn’t know I would be there. My meetings were scheduled there and that is how i got to meet everyone.

    @Abdul Hameed Kath yes you did offer double the amount. So perhaps Ayesha’s idea of charging more is worth considering.

    @Desi Back to Desh yup i guess i would have to share the revenue with Apple😀

    @Nawaz evil? Who me? Noooooo you are mistaking me for someone else.

    @Qasim good luck with your idea!🙂

    @Tarique implementation is always the key.

    Reply
  • 16. Nadeem Ahsan  |  May 2, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    Another idea! You should connect your iPAD to Adnan Agboatwala’s ad serving engine. That way you could make some more $$ serving ads. What do you say?

    Reply
  • 17. umer  |  May 4, 2010 at 7:20 am

    Hey interesting revenue idea.🙂

    btw, I have an IPAD available in Islamabad (in factory packing) that i need to sell. its the 16GB base model with WIFI. The price is Rs. 70K. Contact me if interested (+92 300 5050225)

    Reply
  • 18. Khawar Nehal  |  May 4, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    T2F is a great place to host it and donate half the earnings.
    The Apple Show.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


