They actually hear what I say – and they respond!

May 1, 2010 at 9:03 am 8 comments

I am asked to speak at many universities across the country – and I try to accept all these speaking engagements because I think one of my primary tasks is to tell anyone who will listen, what a great industry we are all a part of – and how many wonderful opportunities exist for those who are passionate, motivated, innovative and excited about technology and the solutions it can provide.

But often when I speak to an auditorium full of young people in Karachi, Lahore or Islamabad, I wonder whether anyone is actually listening – or are they painfully sitting through a talk that they have been forced to attend by their faculty?  The questions that follow are often an indicator of interest levels but what about those sessions where no Q&A time is allocated?

Like, for instance, when I am asked to be the Chief Guest at a University event like TechElite which was organized at NED University of Engineering and Technology a couple of days ago in Karachi. I spoke at the inaugural session for 15 – 20 minutes and a room full of young people sat there and listened (or at least I hoped they were listening!). I left the auditorium wondering if anything I had said had made an impression or even sinked in.

Then last night I had my answer. I started receiving emails from some of the kids who had been at the event – kids from NED but also some from the other universities who had been there to participate in TechElite. They asked for details regarding some of the P@SHA programs. They commented on some of the things I had said. Some of them even gave me advice on how to involve more young people. I must say I was totally floored. I thought to myself: Hey they actually listen when I am up there talking to what appears to be a sea of people … and they respond. Thanks to all those who wrote in. I am responding to each one of you individually. At least now whenever I walk into a university auditorium, I will have confidence knowing that some of you are actually interested in hearing what I have to say.

(Thanks to Kriley for the very relevant image)

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: , , , , , .

P@SHA supports the Nokia Calling All Innovators! 2010 Contest A new revenue generation idea … could it work?

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Desi Back to Desh  |  May 1, 2010 at 9:59 am

    Yes, we do. How do you think I ended up on Facebook and twitter

    Reply
  • 2. Munir  |  May 1, 2010 at 10:09 am

    They don’t just listen to you. They admire you. You’re true teacher and mentor for a number of students, entrepreneurs and professionals! Please keep doing the great work for our industry.

    Reply
  • […] This cup of tea was served by: In the Line of Wire […]

    Reply
  • […] original post here: They actually hear what I say – and they respond! « In the Line of … By admin | category: University of Engineering & Technology | tags: associate, […]

    Reply
  • 5. Owaeis N.  |  May 1, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    most of the times the audience is not forced to attend the event. This is my second university and I know people attend such events by their will. Also technically, it is not possible to maintain attendance or stuff like that at such events. So cheer up once again, hundreds of students attend the events by their will – many times only to listen to you only!😉

    Reply
  • 6. Jehan  |  May 1, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    @Munir thanks. It is young people like you who make our jobs such a pleasure. You are our future – it is a pleasure for us to do whatever any of us can do to support you.

    @Owaeis I am truly honoured.🙂 Thank you.

    @Jawwad, do you still consider yourself a University kid?😉

    Reply
  • 7. Tarique Aftab  |  May 1, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    All the great forward movements in social sectgor, as a matter of fact, I might say, all the great things in this world, have been done by men and women who were dreamers and believers in their dreams coming true. P@SHA is also forwarding ahead……

    Reply
  • […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by jehan_ara. jehan_ara said: Hey I didn't realize they were listening🙂 http://bit.ly/bMfLW5 […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


