What is this strange looking item?

July 16, 2010 at 3:50 pm 8 comments

I love conversation pieces that are based on new technology – and gadgets are my thing. So when I walked into my brother’s office in Hong Kong and saw this unusual item sitting on his desk, I was naturally filled with curiosity. I asked him what it was and he said “What do you think it is?”. I couldn’t guess. He turned it on and i could feel a cool breeze but couldn’t see where it was coming from.

I examined it, put my hand through it and said “Well it seems to be a cooling device but how does it work?” He pressed a switch and it started to swivel like a fan. It could also be tilted. Amazing!

On further probing, I was told it was a Dyson Multiplier fan. But it didn’t look like a fan. For one thing there were no blades. But a fan it was indeed. According to the website, Dyson Air Multiplier™ fans work differently from conventional fans. They use Air Multiplier™ technology to draw in air and amplify it – from 15 to 18 times, depending on the model. With no blades or grille, they’re safe and easy to clean. And they produce an uninterrupted stream of smooth air, with no unpleasant buffeting. Here is a review on the Dyson Air Multiplier on CNET. Sir James Dyson, the creator of this bladeless fan, explains how it works.

So gone are the days when a child’s hand could be caught in a fan, or someone’s long hair or dupatta. Here is the solution and a neat one.

Naturally I had to have one right away. Since they aren’t available off the shelf in Hong Kong, I had to grab the one my brother had. It wasn’t easy believe me. My brother is generous but his staff put up a lot of resistance. This was a unique item. They hadn’t had a chance to even look at it properly and here I was ready to run off with it. But run I did and it now holds a prominent position on my office table. Come check it out if you like. It is so cool.🙂

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: , , , , .

P@SHA LaunchPad: the Karachi event The iPhone Antenna Song – you gotta love it!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Yasir Imran Mirza  |  July 16, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    very strange item
    Thanks

    Reply
  • 2. azure  |  July 18, 2010 at 9:23 am

    It would look quite out of place on your office table if your office is well air-conditioned!

    Reply
  • 3. Jehan  |  July 18, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    @Azure when there is loadshedding our backup power generation only runs lights, fans and computers – not the ACs. That is when I use this cool fan🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Syed Talha Izhar  |  July 19, 2010 at 11:59 am

    Can we get this in Pakistan??

    Reply
  • 5. Jehan  |  July 19, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    @Talha no not available here yet but I am sure the Chinese will soon come up with a cheaper version that will be available everywhere🙂

    Reply
  • 6. azure  |  July 19, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    Long live the People’s Republic of China!😀

    Reply
  • 7. Farzal  |  July 19, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    The guys is amazing, reinventing Vacuum Cleaners and now freaking fans. Genius.

    Don’t expect to see a Pak Fan label on this anytime soon🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Inspirex  |  July 20, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Its still the same fan…the air is just being routed through the base to make i look pretty🙂

    i dont see why local brands cant do it btw!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


